RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Full-Timers
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 10-05-2019, 05:24 PM   #1

Cost Benefit Analysis -- is it worth it ????

Hello All,
While I am anticipating going RV fulltime I have to admit that after reading hundreds of different comments from RV owners one woud think that most RV's are a money pit and are simply a rolling maintenance nightmare that quickly depreciates into an overall poor investment. As a retired Facility Engineer i get a little nervous looking over the hundreds of posts regarding electrcial problems, plumbing problems , poor quality construction and terrible dealership service. With that in mind I often think I would be better off buying a small house simply because it represents far fewer headaches on a day-to-day basis plus it should appreciate or at least hold its value over time.
Now before everyone jumps up and raves about all of the wonderful views you have had while burning up the miles all over America I still wonder if I couldn't simply hop into my car and simply check into a hotel everywhere I go -- use the hotel as a temporary base and use the car to explore. i'm not trying to be a wet blanket here but why would i want to spend my golden years wondering if the ******* is full ?????

Norvyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!