Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Full-Timers
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-02-2015, 10:54 PM   #1

Earn a living on the road?

Me, my girl, and her 9yo daughter are thinking heavily about hitting the road in a slightly older affordable class A. I am a mechanic, I can fix anything given enough research but am new to RV's and heavy trucks, but not for long..

The plan started to get somewhere new with better promise and a better economy to start fresh, and that is still somewhat the plan. Full time in the MH for 6 months or so to get on our feet in a new area.

But what if we could make a "full-timers" living on the road going from place to place. She has years of experience in a public daycare facility teaching kids, and has also worked for upscale resorts and such.

Can you think of any jobs or work she could do from place to place with resort experience and professional childcare experience?

And as for me, what about fixing things? I will be bringing a lot of tools..

Do you think I would be met with any adverse reactions if I stuck a sign infront of my campsite that read something like...
"Fix Stuff: Lite RV maintenance & repair, automotive, General Mending"
??

Do you think I would get any work? Or what kind of work would be available from here to there?

I don't think we would have to "kill it" and make tons of money, just enough to comfortably sustain life in the RV and maybe save up for an upgrade and a pillow.