Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Full-Timers
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-17-2016, 09:55 PM   #1

Transfer switch

I had to have my transfer switch replaced. I am not technically sharp enough to fully explain this, but it is a switch that contains the surge protector and basically switches between land power, generator power or engine power to deliver power to the coach.

While the tech was here we tested the different sources and of course once he left it started acting up. When the A/C or something needing a lot of electricity comes on, it causes the land power fuse to break and we are on battery power. I started the generator that has been working fine and it starts, runs for a while then shuts off, it shows a service fault 13 under A/C volt. I am running the engine to charge the batteries that were low as I did not realize what was happening until the air would not come back on. I anticipate or hope that something is just not installed correctly with the transfer switch.