Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sunrise Fl.
Posts: 6
30 amp class C

Can you plug into 50 amp service! Just started RVing this February. 24 ft Fleetwood Tioga dsl. Thx for any info you have.
__________________

__________________
Connie
CDill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-19-2012, 03:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,929
Yes but you will need a 50 to 30 amp adapter available at CW or Walmart or most any RV store
__________________

__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 03:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
milasman's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 883
Yes, need adapter.
__________________
milasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 09:13 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Power Grip Dogbone Adapter, 50 amp male to 30 amp female

This is what you need.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 09:41 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
I will tell you some folks will start yammering about dire warnings about how you do not have the proper level of protection for your power cord yada ydad.. Just close your ears to them they know not that they are frothing at the mouth and speaking nonsence.

In fact, MANY owners of 30 amp rigs prefer to use the 50 amp outlet (With adapter) because they feel it is better,, Generally it is a higher quality connection, less likely to be wore out and cause you issues.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 12:16 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
Now wa8yxm, you are going to hurt some of the pseudo-experts feelings. But I am with you on this.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BCooke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
I will tell you some folks will start yammering about dire warnings about how you do not have the proper level of protection for your power cord yada ydad..
Why? just because you are supplying 50 amps of power to a 30 amp cord and relying on the on the connections and breaker in the coach to function properly?? Who would do that....
__________________
2017 F350 Lariat Diesel Dually, White, Hitch Kit.
2013 Dutchman Voltage 3200 Epic II 5th wheel.
BCooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 06:02 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
The cord is protected by the 30 amp breakers in the coach. Nothing requires belts and suspenders on the breaker. If you get a dead short in the cord between the RV and the 50 amp breakers in the pedestal, the 50 amp breakers will trip.

Looking at the problem from another perspective...you plug 100 Watt lamp into a wall plug in the house with 15 amp circuit breaker. How are you protecting the lamp...it has to bet from 1.D.C. Amps all the way to 15 to trip the breaker.

Ken
__________________

__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.