Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-15-2013, 10:50 AM   #1

Batteries and boon docking

Being a newbie with two camping trips under my belt and with FHU I have no experience with what to expect when boondocking. I have an '02 Damon and it appears to have 2 relatively new 6 volt house batteries. They are fully charged. My question is, if I overnight anywhere without electric what can I reasonably expect to use in the coach without running down the batteries? Should I turn off the non-use switch when I am going to sleep? If it is warm out can I run the whole-house fan? I have no idea what to expect and don't want to run the generator for more than what is absolutely necessary. I realize there are many variables here but a "rule of thumb" would be appreciated.....thanks!
RVBaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!