Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2016, 10:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Coffee maker quits working only on generator power

I can't figure this one out....

One of our luxuries when boondocking is to fire up the generator and use the electric Cuisinart coffee maker in the morning as the inverter can't handle the load which draws down the batteries pretty quick. We normally run everything off solar.

This has been working fine for the past couple of months but all of a sudden power at the machine quits as soon as I fire up the genny.

I've tried plugging the coffee maker into different 110 v outlets, none of them start the coffee maker when on genny. Other 110 appliances work fine on inverter and generator. The coffee maker does not have any sort of reset button.

Any ideas why this is happening?
__________________

__________________
Dave B
Calgary, Alberta
06 Monaco Camelot 40pdq
canuckdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-27-2016, 10:20 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I assume that your generator is some model of Onan QD possibly the QD-8000 KW model.

If that is so, that generator is an Inverter type model versus the 10 KW & !2 KW which are true 240 VAC model constant velocity type generators.

Is it possible that the Crusinart coffee maker does not like that type of power?

Maybe a call directly to talk with an Onan Technical representative would answer your question.

Have you done any research into the Crusinart coffee maker model to see if there is something strange with its electronics that are causing this phenomenon?

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 10:28 AM   #3
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckdave View Post
I can't figure this one out....
One of our luxuries when boondocking is to fire up the generator and use the electric Cuisinart coffee maker in the morning as the inverter can't handle the load which draws down the batteries pretty quick. We normally run everything off solar.
This has been working fine for the past couple of months but all of a sudden power at the machine quits as soon as I fire up the genny.
I've tried plugging the coffee maker into different 110 v outlets, none of them start the coffee maker when on genny. Other 110 appliances work fine on inverter and generator. The coffee maker does not have any sort of reset button.
canuckdave
That is strange indeed.
I will be following this tread closely.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 10:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,909
Have you checked the voltage output of the generator.

If it is a bit too low or high, maybe the coffee maker is sensitive to that.

Beg, borrow or buy a voltage tester.

If the voltage test low, change the fuel filter.

We must have our coffee !
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 10:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Davdeb1's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Avon Lake, Oh
Posts: 2,884
It may be something as simple as the coffee pot is bad. Only one way to test that theory. Plug it in. Also, check voltage at plugs with Genny running, could be slightly low.
__________________
2000 HOLIDAY RAMBLER ENDEAVOR
40 FT--330HP CAT
2 SLIDES-TOAD 2012 focus
Fulltime-Home is where we park it.
Davdeb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,929
In my previousl mh everything worked on the generator except for the microwave. It was getting power, the lights would come on, but the keypad was non responsive. Worked great on shore power. Checked the gen output and it was "normal" in the 126 volt range which from what I'd read was acceptable. I adjusted the gen down a bit, and voilą the microwave started working properly.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:55 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
Does the display work on the coffee maker when the generator is on?
And if it does, does it keep correct time.

Two things that can affect it are voltage and frequency. Since it is a rotating generator, the waveform shape will be OK.

There are no special requirements for a heating element, but the coffee maker has a microprocessor which may be fussy on its DC power.
The DC supply inside the coffee maker may have a problem if the freq. or voltage inputs are off.

Regards,

Dan
__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 10:14 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,343
Get a "Kill a watt" you can read voltage and frequency from the Gen or any incoming power. Also can read wattage, how much power, any plug-in appliance uses.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 12:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Redapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 539
Plug the coffee maker into a known good outlet other than the mh, if it works that would rule out the bad coffee maker.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3272 w/F-53 @ V10
Redapple is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 03:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ABrask's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Loudon, TN
Posts: 165
We have a similar issue with our Tassimo coffee maker, and it's due to the fact that power from a generator is often "dirty"...essentially meaning there's a lot of noise in the wave length. The coffee maker has a micro processor that is sensitive to this noise (exasperated, no doubt, by a poorly designed AC to DC power supply circuit within the appliance that does a poor job of filtering). The solution for us has been to turn off the generator while making coffee (running off AC power supplied by the inverter from the batteries) and then turning it back on when we're done. The dirty power issue can also affect appliances or devices with capacitive touch screens...a friend found this out when attempting to use one to control his media system.
__________________
Alan, Margaret, and Lucy (the Maltipoo who runs the show)
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2015 Mini Cooper 4-Door Hardtop Toad
ABrask is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 03:59 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I think we lost the OP so we may never know what the actual cause happen to be for his brand of coffeemaker.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 10:41 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr4Film View Post
I think we lost the OP so we may never know what the actual cause happen to be for his brand of coffeemaker.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Sorry, I'm still here. I haven't been able to try plugging the coffeemaker into regular AC power as we will be boondocking for the next few weeks. I kind of like the theory promoted by ABrask in that the generator produces dirty power because the coffeemaker was working just fine for a couple of months, then quit working on generator.
__________________
Dave B
Calgary, Alberta
06 Monaco Camelot 40pdq
canuckdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 10:45 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpinvidic View Post
Does the display work on the coffee maker when the generator is on?
And if it does, does it keep correct time.

Two things that can affect it are voltage and frequency. Since it is a rotating generator, the waveform shape will be OK.

There are no special requirements for a heating element, but the coffee maker has a microprocessor which may be fussy on its DC power.
The DC supply inside the coffee maker may have a problem if the freq. or voltage inputs are off.

Regards,

Dan
When the coffeemaker is running on inverter, LCD readout works fine, when generator is started, LCD readout quits suddenly.
__________________
Dave B
Calgary, Alberta
06 Monaco Camelot 40pdq
canuckdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 07:51 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckdave View Post
When the coffeemaker is running on inverter, LCD readout works fine, when generator is started, LCD readout quits suddenly.
That confirms "dirty power". Actually there us a dc power supply inside thd coffee maker.
Anyone with a faur amount of electronics knowledge could add filter caps indidd to clean up the noise defore it gets to the electronics.

You can buy AC line filters on ebay for about $10. If you have room inside thd coffee maker, you could wire it in series with tha ac.

Needs a 3 wire cord on maker.
Regards,

Dan

Regards,

Dan
__________________

__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Ice Maker Water Supply Tubing Without Removing The Refridgerator Bill WA6YBD National RV Owner's Forum 5 11-23-2015 11:09 AM
Keurig coffee maker trygve52 RV Systems & Appliances 15 06-15-2015 09:05 AM
Dometic Ice maker iceing up mirage RV Systems & Appliances 4 06-14-2015 11:15 PM
ice maker growling at me markmiiler Thor Industries Owner's Forum 1 04-07-2015 08:59 PM
Heat tape not working!! Cari Z Full-Timers 17 02-12-2014 07:56 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.