Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2015, 10:22 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Pullin' Chocks's Avatar
 
New Horizons Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 426
We did this on our farm. We had livestock and needed water during power outages. We had a 300' well with a 1 hp Goulds submersible pump. It required about 25 amps @ 240V I seem to recall. We had to look around a bit to find a generator with a 240V output that also had 30 Amp recepticle. We found it in a 5500 W General for about $900. Worked great for the 20 years we were there. Sold the generator with the farm. It was still running reliably.
__________________

__________________
2013 New Horizons 37' Majestic, 2013 Ford F-450 Lariat
Full-time RV April 2013, Retired January 2014
Pullin' Chocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-26-2015, 10:52 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
birddog2you's Avatar
 
Mid Atlantic Campers
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 414
My well is 450ft deep with 350 ft vertical and 400 ft level run at 50psi I used a 1 1/2hp 30amp 240v pump. My 6500 watt generator would barely run the pump alone. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
2008 CC 34RLSA / 2003 F-250 SD 6.0
birddog2you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 11:23 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
Believe it not the hole was drilled ~50 years ago during a full scale exploration project by a mining company, literally thousands of holes drilled and for some reason the left some of them open with the casing left in place. This property was sold by the mining company about 25 years ago and I just recently bought it. There are 3 other property owners who are using an old cased hole for well water.

Doing more research and I'll need a 1HP pump to over come head and pipe loss with sufficient water volume for residential use. Since I'm not in a hurry I'm waiting to find a good deal on one as the prices range all over the place. I may buy a cheaper on initially to do the initial pump test and then install a better one longer term and keep the first one as a spare.

As far as setting the pump, I will used a pulley system and stainless steel cable to lower the pump. It will be a standard configuration with a pitless adapter mounted through the side of the casing. I will used 20' sections of 1" drop pipe just like a well driller would use. I've purchased a well cap/seal that is split and has a smaller opening that I can use to rest the pipe as I make connections etc. The weight of a 1HP pump is ~50 lbs, the pipe will be about 100 lb, and the power cable and SS cable is ~50 lb so lowering the pump will not be an issue.

I will do the well test and see how fast the water recovers. I will probably rig up a simple water depth gauge using 1/4" tubing and pressure gauge, I will submerge the pump about 35 into the water and then monitor the fluctuation as I pump and also how fast the water level recovers. (amazing what you can find when doing research on the internet).

Once the pump is operated and fills the 1" pipe is full of water it will add another ~60 lbs so the total weight will be ~260lb. I could actually man handle this weight (no I'm not kidding, just built like a brick S#%t house) Using the SS cable I will raise the pump above the water level and secure the cable so I it won't risk falling down.

I do not even have a road established to the well yet, even a well driller could not access the location.

I've ordered a generator head that I can mount on my lawn mower, using the electric clutch to engage/disengage. This will make it easy to get the generator to/from the well. I will make a breaker box with a 30 amp breaker that will plug the generator into. I will ground the system. I can wire the pump to the breaker box which will provide overload protection.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2015, 01:37 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 949
A 30 amp, 240V system is 7,200 watts. For a typical contractor grade gas generator, I usually plan on 500 watts per gas engine horsepower. Your lawnmower will need to be about 14 HP to run the generator head.
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2006 Itasca Sunrise 35A, 2005 W-22, Allison 1000 5 speed
'13 Ford Focus ST or '10 Prius on Master Tow Dolly 80THD-SB or '00 Jeep Cherokee 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 08:49 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
20 HP Kohler so I've got enough HP.

I was looking for a generator attachment for my DR Mower but have not had any luck finding one close.

I like the idea of multipurpose type generator/mower, it would be mobile and that way I could easily get it around the property while I'm working on it. Using power tools would be easy. In the event of a power outage I can get it around easier.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 02:39 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 22
Wind Mill water system and Cistern... possible?

I see wind mills at many water well sites watering cattle in Central New Mexico, and apparently deeper wells. Pump into a cistern for storage and when the float indicates full... the pump is disengaged. The ranchers use water tanks, but depending the grade to where you want it... gravity feed for use gives you some head pressure... all for the cost of having a consistent wind supply.
__________________
Ray Eklund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:52 PM   #21
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
I have a 250' deep well with a 240 volt 5 hp Jacuzzi pump hanging at 220'. It pulls 22 amps to start. In power outages I use a 10k genset. 55psi output. I then pump another 75ft of head to two tanks. Gravity feed 44psi.
A lot of the smaller gensets don't have the necessary amps to start properly. Low voltage or amps can burn out your pump motor. Don't ask me how I found this out.
__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 11:04 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,369
Unless you are doing some heavy irrigation, you don't need more than 1 HP at that depth. I have two wells about a 1/4 mi apart, both 260' deep. One runs the household and the other fills a 2500 gal storage tank for light irrigation. I added the storage tank during the bad drought to keep from stressing the well. I have it throttled down to only pump 2 GPM to fill the tank. Both of them are 1 HP 240V and have done well for many years.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 11:16 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmith
If you are running 2 wire then is that 110vac? Seems 3 wire 220vac would draw half the current or amperage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
You are 100% mistaken..
wa8yzm, you're right about the number of wires not determining voltage (necessarily) but he's right about 220V pulls half the current. Current, not watts, is generally the limiting issue with generators. If he was buying a generator, I'd want him to use a 220V pump - those motors are generally a bit more efficient anyway.

I have a 550' well. It's got a 2hp, 220V pump. It's run by a 30A circuit and a control box with large starting and run capacitors. If I was sizing a generator for it, I'd want 30A * 220V = 6600 watts (continuous, just to be safe). And make sure not only that the generator is rated for that continuous use, but you actually need to see what circuit breaker is on the connector, as many are not rated to provide full power.


Two other suggestions:
1) Consider installing a pressure tank at the well head - it'll help add life to your (expensive) well pump.
2) If you spec a pump and control box, we can help select the right generator. Again, verify the actual circuit breaker in the gen-set.
__________________
cb1000rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 01:18 PM   #24
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Big Bear Ca.(Sugarloaf)
Posts: 1,223
I forgot to mention that I supply water to 55 sites as well as the campground. We pump an average of 7800 gals a day to two 14000 gal tanks. Summer we pump a lot more.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Carole
What a long strange trip it's been.

No longer RVing. Happy Trails to you.
Campingman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Pump & City Water Pressure Sky_Boss RV Systems & Appliances 1 09-10-2015 08:10 PM
Water Pump Leaking bfisher003 RV Systems & Appliances 7 08-27-2015 01:31 PM
Water pump problem? Spk64 Newmar Owner's Forum 24 08-21-2014 08:52 PM
Bounder: Water pump switches do not turn pump on roilacres Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 8 01-19-2014 04:30 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.