Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-13-2017, 02:50 AM   #1

Dry Camping Advice

I'm still pretty new at this RV thing, but I have to admit, I'm beginning to get my fill of (some) RV parks. Someone suggested I look into dry camping somewhere comfortable and quiet. 'till now, there have been too many unknowns for me, but I'm willing to try it out, but where? I live in San Diego. Does anyone have any suggestions where?. I'd like to do it over a weekend, somewhere quiet, but not so far away from civilization. Just me, my wife and two dogs. I don't hunt and I don't fish, but I can drink a mean beer or two. But seriously, is it realistic to to expect batteries to hold up for two days and two nights if I keep power down to a minimum? I don't have solar but I do have a generator. Any input will land on very grateful ears...thanks.
22 years Navy...Retired. 20 years Law Enforcement...retired. Navy showed me Viet Nam and police work showed me society's worst. Hopefully this 2015 Winnebago View 24m will show me a level of relaxation I've only dreamed of.
Donut lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!