Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-17-2019, 11:24 AM   #1

Outdoors RV Owners Club
Elk Camp with TT

Hello all, complete noob here, please be gentle.We just purchased our first TT (Outdoors RV 21DBS) and are taking it on a few weekend trips to dial it in before I take it Elk hunting for a week.

We’re trying to figure out if I’ll need a generator or not for the week of boondocking in the woods.

The weather could be as cold as 20* F, so I’ll need to run the heater off our propane (but have been told the fan can kill batteries quickly?). I’ll take a cooler and not need the fridge. I’m not too worried about having lights as we’ve got lanterns and pretty much go to bed when it gets dark due to the early mornings.

We’ve got a 170 watt solar panel roof mounted, but can’t count on much sun.

Would you recommend a generator, or just tons of propane? If we need a generator I’d love to hear suggestions on how large and what brands. I’m pretty handy, but know nothing about electricity (watts, amps, volts, oh my!).

Thanks so much!
dogperson11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!