Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-15-2011, 11:19 AM   #1

Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Genset Battery charging

This is my first time dry camping and I am trying to learn how to properly charge my batteries. For now I am confined to generator charging with a Magnetek 7345 converter. As far as I know it is a single stage charger?
Would love to upgrade to a progressive dynamics 9365 with charge wizard, but will save that money towards a solar install sometime in the future.
When I check my batteries while plugged into shore power after 24 hours the voltage shows 13.2 volts. When I test the batteries after resting they show 12.7 volts. I have not checked them with a hydometer yet.
After the first day of dry camping I soon found out that 2 group 24 batts (fairly new) at 164 amps was not enough. I had room for one more battery, so I added the same model 12 volt deep cycle in series. Now I have a total of 246 amps. Not great, but good enough for now.