Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 05-03-2015, 07:35 AM   #1
Suggestions for boondocking in CO?

We are in our second season of owning a travel trailer, and we really enjoy boondocking. We found a few nice spots last season, but wondering if anyone has any recommendations that we can add to the list for this season? Since I'm still pretty new to this, I'm not sure if good boondocking places are like good fishing holes- you don't disclose them for fear of having a nice spot ruined by other people! We've done all of ours in the Pike and San Isabel national forests, but know there is so much more out there. I use motor vehicle use maps, supplied by the Forest Service, locate roads that can be used, and then check Google Maps to get a rough idea what the area is like. Unfortunately, what I don't want to encounter, and what Google Maps can't tell me, is what the road is like. I would like to avoid getting to a place that seems good, only to have to turn around because the road is rutted out, too narrow, or too many low hanging trees to get through with our trailer. (I could do scouting trips without the trailer, but some spots may be several hours away, so if I can avoid that, it would be nice!)
Any ideas would be greatly appreciated- you can even keep them vague so I don't wreck your secret gem! Thanks!

bigben7728 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!