Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > CAMPING, TRAVEL and TRIP PLANNING > Boondocking
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-19-2010, 10:13 PM   #15

I am retired Law Enforcement (25 years) where, among other things I was a firearms instructor. Training is essential in my opinion. But training is not everything. Nothing really prepares anyone for getting into a real confrontation with firearms involved. I appreciate and agree with the comments made here about being aware of your environment and getting out of obviously bad situations. Descretion is the best plan of action. Drawing a firearm can quickly escalate a situation. We would never draw a firearm unless we were ready to use it. Much better to consider this the absolute last approach. Backing down and getting away is probably the best plan of action in most situations. So by all means, get the training, store it safely and make sure it cannot fall into the wrong hands. Many people are injured or killed each year when kids find weapons that are not locked away as they should be. Be careful out there.

Vic Maris
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!