Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > RV LIFE STYLES FORUMS > Solo RV'ers
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 12-06-2019, 06:31 PM   #1

Going solo and using a dolly OK for a 1st time noob?

My plan is to buy a 31ft class A MH and use a dolly to tow my car.
I will be alone and have zero experience with anything to do with RV or MH.
Am I crazy to think a total newbie could handle using a dolly?

My goal is to use a dolly and not any other type of tow.
Yes I know a dolly is harder when it comes to unloading and loading at a RV park or small campsites.
I just want to know how hard it will be at first. I can image that after a few solo trips I will get better.

My plan will be before I set off to traverse the united states is to spend a month just driving the MH and staying at multiple sites without the tow.
Also, when I do start using the dolly, if I am unsure of a campsite I will opt for a pull thru when available.
My goal is to not look like a fool trying to unload my dolly and car before I back into a campsite stall pissing everyone off blocking traffic.

By the way, I am totally comfortable towing a boat on a regular trailer, but a dolly is an unruly thing so I've been told.
Alikair is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!