iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   MH-General Discussions & Problems (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f84/)
-   -   Prevost slide out and leveling question (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f84/prevost-slide-out-and-leveling-question-104530.html)

dfwcantor 10-01-2011 08:58 AM

Prevost slide out and leveling question

Pardon my ignorance but can someone answer the following:

When did Prevost start putting in the slides at the factory? When looking at a used unit, is there an easy way to tell if a slide is factory or aftermarket?

Also, I had heard that Prevost's do not have or cannot be fitted with hydraulic leveling jacks - is this true?

Many thanks

JMonroe 10-01-2011 10:03 AM

I am not a Prevost expert, but I don't think they ever build more than just the shell. It's the RV upfitter that puts in slides, as specified by the owner. In other words, they're all "aftermarket".

Pairajays 10-01-2011 10:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JMonroe (Post 972225)
I am not a Prevost expert, but I don't think they ever build more than just the shell. It's the RV upfitter that puts in slides, as specified by the owner. In other words, they're all "aftermarket".

I think your right on one item. They supply converters with just a shell. However, they started adding slides at some point in time. That's why the shell price increased over a $100K. Unfortunately, i don't know the year they did this, which was the question.

Jim E

Papa_Jim 10-01-2011 10:27 PM

I read an article in Motor Coaching magazine about Liberty or Marathon coach. They are supplied with Prevost coach shells, complete with slides and custom exterior paint.

So that's what is happening today.

I don't know when Prevost began supplying their coach shells with slides, and I believe that was the original question.

hellojohnny 10-01-2011 10:40 PM