iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Newmar Owner's Forum (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/)
-   -   Sudden loss of air pressure (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/sudden-loss-of-air-pressure-13248.html)

davidnrose 04-23-2007 12:23 PM

While test driving the 2001 dutch star I'm purchasing there was a sudden loss of air, the top air guage dropped to zero and lights and buzzer came on. Brakes were ok, the air then came back up to normal. this happened 2 more times on a 20 minute drive. Today the dealer can't get it to happen, everything is ok. Dealer says he can't fix what isn't broken. Anyone have an opinion on this? I know if I lose all air the brakes will lock up. I'm wondering if it cuold be an instrumentation problem, maybe a loose electrical connection.
I'd appreciate any input , i'm picking up the coach tomorrow, I hope. Thanks davidnrose

Lug_Nut 04-23-2007 01:14 PM

The Maxi brakes are normally activated by the primary air pressure, not the secondary. Your guages are marked accordingly. I would bet your problem is electrical, but needs to be addressed. Did the air pressure incicated return to normal quicly?

Peter

Toterman (David) 04-23-2007 01:36 PM

I don't know how it is done on your MH but on my Volvo the air gauge is real time, not electronic. I lost a maxi can last year coming home from the National Rally and I want you to know it was a real experience !!

David

Ecker 04-23-2007 01:44 PM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by davidnrose:
While test driving the 2001 dutch star I'm purchasing there was a sudden loss of air, the top air guage dropped to zero and lights and buzzer came on. Brakes were ok, the air then came back up to normal. this happened 2 more times on a 20 minute drive. Today the dealer can't get it to happen, everything is ok. Dealer says he can't fix what isn't broken. Anyone have an opinion on this? I know if I lose all air the brakes will lock up. I'm wondering if it cuold be an instrumentation problem, maybe a loose electrical connection.
I'd appreciate any input , i'm picking up the coach tomorrow, I hope. Thanks davidnrose </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
If this is a freightliner chassis the brake lines are fed to a VDC (visual display computer)which then sends the electronic signal via wire to the dash gages. I'd suspect a bad VDC in such a case as you describe.

footdoc 04-23-2007 03:32 PM

I'm having a similar problem with my Spartan and the front air gauge..will go from 65 to 150 and give a buzzer on the dash that gives LOW air warning ! Was trouble shot to be a bad gauge..I await the replacement

Lug_Nut 04-23-2007 05:41 PM

The later models are also software driven. My both air guages would read zero and display and sound alarm if start with the vehicle lights on while starting. With them off, no problem. The light bar required a flash update which solved the issue.

Peter

Ed B 05-03-2009 05:47 PM

I had the same problem and I have posted a couple of times regarding the progress to its eventual solution. It is located under "Air gauge malfunction" on the second page or so of the listings now. I should probably learn how to direct you in a better way to that thread.

birdwatcher 05-06-2009 01:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by davidnrose (Post 35502)
While test driving the 2001 dutch star I'm purchasing there was a sudden loss of air, the top air guage dropped to zero and lights and buzzer came on. Brakes were ok, the air then came back up to normal. this happened 2 more times on a 20 minute drive. Today the dealer can't get it to happen, everything is ok. Dealer says he can't fix what isn't broken. Anyone have an opinion on this? I know if I lose all air the brakes will lock up. I'm wondering if it cuold be an instrumentation problem, maybe a loose electrical connection.
I'd appreciate any input , i'm picking up the coach tomorrow, I hope. Thanks davidnrose

I had the rear air pressure reading go to zero but there was obviously pressure or the brakes would have locked up. Freightliner Custom Chasis say they had VDC units that had a faulty sensorfor the rear air. I had to replace the VDC. This did correct that problem but have since had more gage problems. Now they all fail to register readings at what appears to be random times and for random periods. Freightliner continues to claim this is a lose connection problem but I think they sold me another faulty VDC.

"007" 05-06-2009 08:32 PM

Air Gage malfunction

"007" 05-06-2009 08:51 PM

Welcome birdwatcher to the Newmar forum and irv2.
Enjoy the forums and do post often.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.