iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Newmar Owner's Forum (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/)
-   -   Television upgrade (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/television-upgrade-13707.html)

PIA 02-11-2007 11:09 AM

Ok, I am now going to take a differant approach to solving my issue. I need to repalce my Front TV in our 2000 DSDP. Ok, I want to replace it..It is old, and has 1 input..for teh cable. I want something a bit more friendly for DVD players, surround sound systems, etc..

I have decided against a flat screen LCD, unless someone has a really good idea-realizing how difficult it is to mount it flush and adjust it, without doing major cabinet mods..So, a tube televsision works fine for me. Here is the issue..I measure the opening to be almost 20" x 20"....what televisions (mfgs and model #) have you all put in your coaches, or do you have that will fit in my front TV cabinet?

I appreciate your input...

PIA 02-11-2007 11:09 AM

Ok, I am now going to take a differant approach to solving my issue. I need to repalce my Front TV in our 2000 DSDP. Ok, I want to replace it..It is old, and has 1 input..for teh cable. I want something a bit more friendly for DVD players, surround sound systems, etc..

I have decided against a flat screen LCD, unless someone has a really good idea-realizing how difficult it is to mount it flush and adjust it, without doing major cabinet mods..So, a tube televsision works fine for me. Here is the issue..I measure the opening to be almost 20" x 20"....what televisions (mfgs and model #) have you all put in your coaches, or do you have that will fit in my front TV cabinet?

I appreciate your input...

adj 02-11-2007 11:32 AM

Flat panel TVs are much lighter and have all the latest features (HDTV,S-Video, HDMI,etc.). Perhaps there is a LCD TV out there that will fit into your 20X20 opening.

smlranger 02-11-2007 11:37 AM

PIA:

I replaced a 19" tube TV in the rear of my rig with a 20" Panasonic LCD. It has all the connections for DVD, etc.

Have you considered mounting a piece of plywood in the existing opening to which you can attach a bracket that would hold a flat screen LCD? That might allow you to expand your options without doing much modification to the cabinet.

PIA 02-11-2007 12:04 PM

You just gave me an idea...What about a piece of hinged plywood..mount the TV to that, and the hinge could be up top, and the bottom can latch to keep it closed..hmmm..ideas...

PIA 03-24-2007 09:30 AM

I fianlly did it! I had a door made and placed it over the original TV cabinet.Then I mounted the Flat Screen TV with DirecTV tuner built in. Works great! And I think it looks great as well.

Now I just need to tackle the surround sound issue. My problem is, the Surround Sound Tuner is too deep to fit in the Driver side overhead. I think I have to place it on the Passanger side, behind the front seat....Thenrun my wires. I am bit nervous drilling holes to run lines...Who has a 2000 Dutchstar that has put in surround sound? How did you run the wiring?

Tony Van Helden 03-24-2007 05:46 PM

I'm eyeing the same situation except I'd like to know if anyone has ever run the power and signal cables through the roof ducts to the bathroom wall to mount a flat screen. The other option I though of was to run those same wires behind the cove molding along the ceiling. Anyone have any ideas on this one????????

"007" 03-24-2007 06:08 PM

PIA,Just above you there are some add ons that I have put in 5.1 dvd, LCD.
Tony if you have a wall large enough down the end where bath is you could feed necessary wiring down to that wall with a crown molding mounted to ceiling above your main slide. The LCD I have works on 12v thru a brake down transformer.
I had a shower on that wall in bathroom so would have to feed wires down kitchen wall to LCD. You can not fish wires thru ceiling front to back only thru cabinets pass-side than across ceiling to opposite side wall. http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/smash.gif
Look it over good anything is possible. http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...icon_smile.gif

Tony Van Helden 03-25-2007 06:04 AM

007, not being an electrician, are you saying I should draw my 12v power from a closer source rather than running from the front? Is that as radio shack item I wire into the system? Thanks for your help!

Tony Van Helden 03-25-2007 06:14 AM

Another question I have has to do with brand on the flat screen. Someone here mentioned Jensen as the best brand to withstand the bumps. I recall it had a marine application for some rugged treatment. What do others think? Does it really make much difference?

"007" 03-25-2007 08:19 AM

I have a Polaroid LCD that works off 12v, you would need a long 12v plug and power lead to get from fuse panel up front along with the coax lead from TV Control box. Both leads wouldn't be that large or heavy, the power lead may have to be spliced to use the plug for 12v input.
You will also have to figure what your going to mount the 20lb LCD on the wall to, sometimes not to much support inside wall on bathroom wall. http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/oboy.gif


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.