iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Monaco Owner's Forum (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/)
-   -   Replacement Monitor for Aladdin/Back-Up (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/replacement-monitor-for-aladdin-back-up-21421.html)

digNbubbs 02-24-2007 10:22 PM

One of my service items when I went to Wildwood Service this past week was the monitor for the Aladdin system and camera setup. When I took deliver, it did not work properly, and it never got better.

My dealer threw a couple of parts at it, claiming they knew what was wrong. They didn't. I figured I would just have Monaco look at it. That was a good move.

They determined that it was inoperable, and I gently mentioned that I had great dislike for that Black and White, CRT monitor. They said they would see what they could do. The result is below -

http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=7579

It turned out awesome! They used a color flat panel monitor, and custom built an ABS "filler" for the stock hole. It came out so great, and the monitor is awesome. It is so great that I can actually see the Aladdin numbers now, as well as my cameras.

http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=7583

Thought I would share -

--kev

digNbubbs 02-24-2007 10:22 PM

One of my service items when I went to Wildwood Service this past week was the monitor for the Aladdin system and camera setup. When I took deliver, it did not work properly, and it never got better.

My dealer threw a couple of parts at it, claiming they knew what was wrong. They didn't. I figured I would just have Monaco look at it. That was a good move.

They determined that it was inoperable, and I gently mentioned that I had great dislike for that Black and White, CRT monitor. They said they would see what they could do. The result is below -

http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=7579

It turned out awesome! They used a color flat panel monitor, and custom built an ABS "filler" for the stock hole. It came out so great, and the monitor is awesome. It is so great that I can actually see the Aladdin numbers now, as well as my cameras.

http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=7583

Thought I would share -

--kev

MonacoMama 02-24-2007 10:27 PM

Congrats on another great job by the Monaco Warranty crew! (How many Coronas did that cost ya? http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...on_biggrin.gif )
They did a great job - you can't tell it may not be original factory without doing a double take on the pics...




Jack Pattman 03-01-2007 04:12 AM

Hey Kev,
What was your old monitor doing or not doing. I had my rear camera replaced and the image on the monitor is reversed. Monaco has been working on it for three months with no solution. Your new monitor looks fantastic. Guess who my next call is going to...

dwhee 03-01-2007 05:01 AM

And what was the $$.$$ to you?
Dan

digNbubbs 03-01-2007 01:34 PM

The issue I was having was the image on the monitor was garbled. Kind of like the old TVs that had the Horizontal Hold knob, and the knob got real twisted. Got better, got worse, but never worked real well. It was like that when I took delivery of the coach, but not when I test drove it. The dealer sent out one side camera to replace, saying it was the camera that was messing it up http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...n_rolleyes.gif

I was able to get the monitor replaced under a warranty replacement, as the new monitor was apparently matched better to the cameras http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...icon_smile.gif


--kev

dwhee 03-01-2007 02:41 PM

Kev, we have had similar issues with our setup. The right camera would go to gray periodically, the left would go to a rolling black screen (you could see the word left rolling vertically). We took the coach to Elkhart where the techs replaced the left camera. They could not get the right to act up so they said that it was ok http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/frustrated.gif. On the way home, about 10 miles south of Elkhart, the right went gray http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/scared.gif. I called the service writer who told me to contact a tech at monaco http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/nono.gif http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/sign0013.gif. The tech told me to take the coach to a local RV dealer (non Monaco) to have the right camera replaced if after checking the connection in the dash at the Alladin I found no loose wires. Did you have any issues with the two sides acting differently causing the monitor to act as ours?

digNbubbs 03-02-2007 08:54 AM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dwhee:
.... Did you have any issues with the two sides acting differently causing the monitor to act as ours? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

No, they pretty much acted the same. Sometimes one camera would be a bit clearer than the others, but they were still all plagued with the same bad image.

To test, I had a 7" LCD panel laying around that I plugged the external output from the Aladding into. The LCD showed everything perfectly, which is what lead me to believe that it was simply a monitor issue. The LCD did not have any controls on it for panning the rear camera, so I used the controls on the bad monitor while viewing the picture on the LCD. Worked out OK, but the new monitor is the best solution.

There is an external output on the Aladdin. You can find a small TV or similar video source to see if it is a monitor issue or not. Let me know if you want to see the location of the video output on the Aladdin - I have a picture.


--kev

SacsTC 03-02-2007 10:43 AM

I think you could also use rca cable from output on the aladdin to input into the TV above for a test.

digNbubbs 03-03-2007 05:52 AM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by SacsTC:
I think you could also use rca cable from output on the aladdin to input into the TV above for a test. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Indeed - but only if you have bypassed the "turn the key on and the TV goes off" relay http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...icon_smile.gif I have pictures of that too if interested.


--kev

MonacoMama 03-03-2007 06:35 AM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">
Indeed - but only if you have bypassed the "turn the key on and the TV goes off" relay I have pictures of that too if interested. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


The WHAT???... oh yeah.... we don't have that pesky "bypass" problem anymore http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...on_biggrin.gif




dwhee 03-04-2007 05:54 AM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by digNbubbs:

Indeed - but only if you have bypassed the "turn the key on and the TV goes off" relay http://irv2.infopop.cc/groupee_commo...icon_smile.gif I have pictures of that too if interested.


--kev </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Please do! http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/idea.gif

tjy 09-02-2007 08:48 PM

I too am very interested in that "operation"
on my 07 knight.
A buddy of mine has a travel supreme and can
source his camera to his big overhead tv.
tom

digNbubbs 09-02-2007 09:58 PM

Now, of course this is for educational purposes only...

The TV is plugged into an outlet that hangs loose in the cabinet above and behind the TV. There is a 12V connector coming out the side. If you unplug that connector, the TV will not be affected by the relay located inside the outlet.

http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=6733

12V relay inside the outlet -
http://www.chillaxnet.com/gallery2/m...g2_itemId=6757


--kev


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.