iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   5th Wheel Discussion (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f44/)
-   -   Converting 50 amp to 30 (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f44/converting-50-amp-to-30-a-284583.html)

kwayRN 03-28-2016 08:44 PM

Converting 50 amp to 30
 
Newby here. What can you tell me about adapters that convert from 50 amp to 30 amp? Will everything on our fifth wheel still work as designed/planned? We didn't realize how few local campgrounds have 50 amp service.

jacwjames 03-28-2016 08:57 PM

Every thing should work but you will be limited on how much you can run. Probably only one AC unit at a time.

If you have a power management system it would limit how much you use.

If not you'll have to watch and limit how much power you use. You will have to learn how much each component uses and mix and match to stay under 30 amps. When we are hooked to 30 amp we will put the refrigerator and water heater on propane. Watch use of the microwave as if you are close to 30 amp it will kick the pedestal breaker when you try to start it.

twinboat 03-28-2016 09:17 PM

With a 50 amp service, you have 2, 50 amp lines to draw from. You could conceivably turn on 100 amps of stuff.

Converting to 30 amp, shares the 30 amps from the power pole with both lines. Now you can only use 30 amps of stuff.

Just have to manage your usage.

Mr_D 03-28-2016 09:24 PM

Normal RV 30 amp service is 3,600 watts (120 X 30 amps)
Normal RV 50 amp service is 12,000 watts (120 X 50amps X 2 feeds)

MRUSA14 03-28-2016 09:31 PM

To answer your question, everything will still work, just not everything at once. You will have to manage your total load to keep it from exceeding 30A. If you exceed 30A, the circuit breaker on the power pedestal will trip. You will then have to go out and reset it.

Mr_D 03-28-2016 09:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MRUSA14 (Post 2998008)
To answer your question, everything will still work, just not everything at once. You will have to manage your total load to keep it from exceeding 30A. If you exceed 30A, the circuit breaker on the power pedestal will trip. You will then have to go out and reset it.

Well, that's true for some rigs but our has a 220 volt dryer so we need a 50 amp service to run it. But, in general, you're right.

MnTom 03-29-2016 08:06 AM

Since you are asking about going from 50A to 30A I am guessing your trailer is a 30A unit. In that case you won't see any difference in your trailer using an adapter. Thirty amp service has one 30A 120 volt line for you to use and a 50A has two 50A 120 volt lines.

twinboat 03-29-2016 08:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MnTom (Post 2998375)
Since you are asking about going from 50A to 30A I am guessing your trailer is a 30A unit. In that case you won't see any difference in your trailer using an adapter. Thirty amp service has one 30A 120 volt line for you to use and a 50A has two 50A 120 volt lines.

Copied from the OP.

"We didn't realize how few local campgrounds have 50 amp service."

jpharley 03-29-2016 03:05 PM

Watch hair dryer use. Those things really use lots of power and you must have just about everything turned off to use it.

bluepill 03-29-2016 03:09 PM

Video Info Here:

https://youtu.be/wVYBei5BZmw

kwayRN 03-29-2016 08:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twinboat (Post 2998381)
Copied from the OP.

"We didn't realize how few local campgrounds have 50 amp service."


The fifth wheel is actually a fifty amp.


2015 Cedar Creek 38CK
2015 Silverado 3500HD Diesel Dually

Mr_D 03-29-2016 08:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpharley (Post 2998930)
Watch hair dryer use. Those things really use lots of power and you must have just about everything turned off to use it.

Most seem to be 1500 to 1650 watts, that's about half of the 30 amp service (3,600 watts).

MRUSA14 03-29-2016 08:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_D (Post 2998019)
Well, that's true for some rigs but our has a 220 volt dryer so we need a 50 amp service to run it. But, in general, you're right.

Mr D you are correct. I hadn't thought of that, since most RV's don't have a 220V circuit like yours does.

wingnut60 03-29-2016 10:27 PM

Just get the adapter, and start the learning curve for your own unit. It will take some time to remember not to turn on the micro when your wife is drying her hair....
Most dual ACs won't let both try to run on 30 amp--one or the other.
Not a big deal.
Joe


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.