iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class A Motorhome Discussions (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/)
-   -   Transmission Control Module (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/transmission-control-module-302777.html)

Arby49 08-05-2016 08:00 AM

Transmission Control Module
 
I have a 2008 Monaco Dynasty and am having trouble with the gear box locking up. The diagnostic tests show there is a sensor error with the transmission Control Module. Can anyone help me find the tcm and is there at my battery fuse? Any help would be appreciated.

BFlinn181 08-05-2016 12:51 PM

I'm assuming it's an Allison Transmission? Much information available online about the different models of these transmissions. Yes, there would be a fused power source for the TCM, it would most likely be with other chassis fuses.

MtnTrek 08-05-2016 01:50 PM

Allison 3000?
 
1 Attachment(s)
Allison 3000?
By locking up you mean going into safety limp mode?
Were there any more specific fault codes?
My understanding is that the TCM replacement is a very tedious process on these transmissions.
You might start by inspecting all the harness feed through connectors for integrity, disconnect, spray w/ contact cleaner reconnect.

You may already have this doc.?
http://www.rvtechlibrary.com/transmi..._operators.pdf


Best of luck.

Dutch Star Don 08-05-2016 06:28 PM

"Arby49"....Your TCM should be in the front run bay.....the bay under the driver's window. Here is a photo of mine in my 2005 Monaco Diplomat. When you remove the screwed on cover, there are Bosch relays inside.

Mine was located in the lower right of the bay, under the ECM.

http://www.irv2.com/attachments/phot...0/P1000933.JPG

jacwjames 08-05-2016 07:21 PM

My TCM failed ~3 years ago, worked fine as we were preparing for a trip and then when I tried to start the rig the display panel went crazy along with dash lights and the rig wouldn't start. Had it towed to a shop and they ultimately replaced to the tune of +$3500. I was out of town & my wife had a big trip planned so we couldn't wait.

If you have time you can send yours off for repair for ~$500.

My TCM was in the front drivers side run bay as the previous post suggested. I believe this is power via a wire from the main chassis battery. Make sure it is clean and connected tight.

bobcovey 08-05-2016 11:48 PM

Arby,

The TCM on our coach is powered directly from the chassis batteries by a dedicated wire. There is an inline fuse at the battery. The fuse holder went bad, causing the transmission to drop into neutral. It did not display any faults, nor did it trap any codes. Replacing the fuse holder was one of those "WTH, it can't hurt" fixes that actually did work.
I also know that failing to properly tighten the battery terminal that powers the TCM will cause weird displays on the transmission panel.
I'd make sure you have good connections and charged batteries, first.

HTH,

Arby49 08-06-2016 07:48 AM

TCM
 
Thanks Dutch Star Don. Found the TCM in the middle bay attached to roof of the bay. Still have not found the associated fuse, but continuing to look.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don (Post 3195497)
"Arby49"....Your TCM should be in the front run bay.....the bay under the driver's window. Here is a photo of mine in my 2005 Monaco Diplomat. When you remove the screwed on cover, there are Bosch relays inside.

Mine was located in the lower right of the bay, under the ECM.

http://www.irv2.com/attachments/phot...0/P1000933.JPG


Arby49 08-06-2016 07:57 AM

Thank you bobcovey. I did find the TCM in the middle bay mounted to the roof. I had to remove the overhead panel to find it though. The guys at Monaco Tech Support were a big help. Still have not found the TCM battery fuse though.

Arby49 08-06-2016 08:01 AM

Thank you MtnTrek for the link. I have downloaded it and will eventually read it cover to cover. A lot to learn for a rookie!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.