iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   RV Trip Wizard - Trip Planner Topics (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f287/)
-   -   RV trip wizard to Rand McNally (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f287/rv-trip-wizard-to-rand-mcnally-387414.html)

oldsaltyone 04-16-2018 07:05 PM

RV trip wizard to Rand McNally
 
I have spent hours laying out a new trip on trip wizard and believe I have it done correctly as this is my first attempt. Because I have been using the Rand McNally 7735 for year I want to put the new trip into the 7735 GPS so I can drive with it. I keep trying to save it in trip wizard then putting it into the Rand McNally dock but can't seem to pull this off. Most of the day gone and I still can't get the Rand to see the trip.
Please any help will be appreciated.

MRUSA14 04-16-2018 07:09 PM

I put it in by hand because it is not worth my time to do what you just did. Sometimes these automated processes take longer than doing it the old fashioned way.

timjet 04-17-2018 05:10 AM

Have you used the "Send to GPS" option in Trip Wizard. It's listed after clicking on the wrench icon. There is information there on using the Rand McNally dock. I'm not a RM user so can't help there.

Dr. Q 04-24-2018 02:44 PM

I intend to load a trip into my RM GPS in a few days via the export to GPS function. I will use the Dock software to get the trip onto the SIM card.

I'll report back my experience, as this is the first time I've done this as well

oldsaltyone 04-25-2018 09:23 AM

I tried the send to gps and saved it to my desktop in both file formats but then can not get it into the dock successfully.
I did like someone else suggested and just load it by hand to the RM. This works but makes twice the work.

Dr. Q 04-27-2018 06:22 PM

OK...back with an update.

I could find no way to import RV Trip Wizard into the RD Dock software. I even tried importing the Trip Wizard routing into Good Sams or into TripMaker....no option for that in either one.

As much as I like RV Trip Wizard, it's only good for planning... No help in getting your planned route into the Rand McNally Navigation System

oldsaltyone 04-28-2018 09:17 AM

Thats what I am finding also. I plan the trip on trip wizard then manually apply the stops to RM. Im not sure trip wizard is worth all the trouble. I do like the circles for distance traveled though.
Dave:sad:

ChuckD37 04-29-2018 03:59 PM

I like entering the trip by hand from the computer (or cellphone) into my GPS (sorry, not a RM, couldn't see them, anyway that's a different story). There Is a couple of reasons or this.
First, GPS's make mistakes. I am sure you have seen or heard of some strange moves by GPS.I always double check maps before I enter anything in GPS. The map may be Trip Wizard or Google maps, or even the old fashion paper ones.
Next, sometimes she wants to go a different way than I do and if I am sure I am going the right way I may add waypoints that makes sure we go where I want, not her.
And if I do it by hand I am even more familiar with the trip incase the GPS (or My Dear Bride) want to go wandering around somewhere else.
Regardless don't forget to have Phun.

eewilson818 04-29-2018 05:14 PM

I've been using the RV Trip Wizard and I like it's features very much.

I'm very disappointed that I cannot export the route into my Rand McMally Tablet 80. I used the Send to GPS function for Rand McNally. The only option is the Rand McNally Dock. I tried installing the the RM Dock on my computer. It said I must connect a device. I connected my Tablet 80 to my computer and tried again. Same message, it did not recognize my RM Tablet 80.

This is very disappointing and makes the trip wizard useless if I can't use my route to naviagate.

MRUSA14 04-29-2018 05:19 PM

Of course you can use your route to navigate. Just do as ChuckD37 says. I totally agree with him. Following a computer route without double checking it can lead you astray with the best of programs. Entering it into your GPS by hand gives you a chance to understand the route, correct mistakes, and modify it to suit your needs.

oldsaltyone 04-30-2018 06:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ChuckD37 (Post 4163995)
I like entering the trip by hand from the computer (or cellphone) into my GPS (sorry, not a RM, couldn't see them, anyway that's a different story). There Is a couple of reasons or this.
First, GPS's make mistakes. I am sure you have seen or heard of some strange moves by GPS.I always double check maps before I enter anything in GPS. The map may be Trip Wizard or Google maps, or even the old fashion paper ones.
Next, sometimes she wants to go a different way than I do and if I am sure I am going the right way I may add waypoints that makes sure we go where I want, not her.
And if I do it by hand I am even more familiar with the trip incase the GPS (or My Dear Bride) want to go wandering around somewhere else.
Regardless don't forget to have Phun.

Thanks Chuck

Dale & Mark Bruss 04-30-2018 06:30 AM

We still use MS Street & Trips for planning. We do a whole season route. Once we have the route planned, we transfer the route, a leg at a time into ALK CoPilot.

Since we use two tablets for driving, one for each of us, we do the entering of the trip legs on one of our smartphones and transfer the legs routes into the tablets using WiFi transfer. One of the advantages of using Android units.

aiken rver 04-30-2018 08:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by oldsaltyone (Post 4141671)
I have spent hours laying out a new trip on trip wizard and believe I have it done correctly as this is my first attempt. Because I have been using the Rand McNally 7735 for year I want to put the new trip into the 7735 GPS so I can drive with it. I keep trying to save it in trip wizard then putting it into the Rand McNally dock but can't seem to pull this off. Most of the day gone and I still can't get the Rand to see the trip.
Please any help will be appreciated.

My RM is integrated into an Xite Infotainment system. Do you have a removable SD Card that works with the Docking software. If so, you download the gps file as Download CSV file. Then copy the downloaded file to the SD card.

On the SD card is a folder named RM. Open the RM folder. Open the ImportTrip folder and copy the GPS CSV into this folder. I change the name of the file from gps-download.csv to the nameofthetrip.csv.

When you plug the SD card back into the GPS it will then import the file and remove it from the ImportTrip folder. The trip will be in the MUTISTOP TRIPS under the name you gave the file.

Hope this works for your system. If you are into file editing, you can edit the csv file contents.

oldsaltyone 05-01-2018 07:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by timjet (Post 4142120)
Have you used the "Send to GPS" option in Trip Wizard. It's listed after clicking on the wrench icon. There is information there on using the Rand McNally dock. I'm not a RM user so can't help there.

I tried but couldn't make it work with dock. Thanks


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.