iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   MH-General Discussions & Problems (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f84/)
-   -   Sirius radio (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f84/sirius-radio-38910.html)

ncretired 07-24-2008 07:19 PM

My 2007 Itasca Sunrise came equipped with a Magnadyne M9900CDS Sirius ready radio. In order to activate Sirius I need the Sirius Tuner ID Number (ESN). The instruction manual says push MODE button until "Sirius" is displayed and then push TUNE until "Direct" is displayed. When I press MODE I cannot get it to display "Sirius" unless I first press the reset button. Then it will display "Sirius" but pushing TUNE does nothing and I cannot get "Sirius" to display again unless I reset again. Any advice on how to get the Sirius ESN?

ncretired 07-24-2008 07:19 PM

My 2007 Itasca Sunrise came equipped with a Magnadyne M9900CDS Sirius ready radio. In order to activate Sirius I need the Sirius Tuner ID Number (ESN). The instruction manual says push MODE button until "Sirius" is displayed and then push TUNE until "Direct" is displayed. When I press MODE I cannot get it to display "Sirius" unless I first press the reset button. Then it will display "Sirius" but pushing TUNE does nothing and I cannot get "Sirius" to display again unless I reset again. Any advice on how to get the Sirius ESN?

Mothership 07-24-2008 08:06 PM

If you can tune to channel 1 in Sirius mode that should display your Sirius radio number. I hope that helps. Good luck!

RV Wizard 07-25-2008 01:53 AM

ncretired, welcome to iRV2.com. We are glad to have you join us. I am sure you will enjoy this website and forum. I am sorry to hear of the confusion you your Magnadyne radio; just becasue it says that it is serius ready does not mean it has the sattelite tuner. There will be another component needed before you can request Sirius subscripotion. This is the number you will give them to get it going. Good luck and keep us posted.

Gary RVRoamer 07-25-2008 06:04 AM

Mike is right - your M9900CDS requires an optional Sirius tuner (and Sirius antenna) to actually receive Sirius radio. If you will look at the diagrams in the back of your manual you will see the hook-up instructions for the optional M9SIR Sirius tuner. "Sirius ready" merely means that the Sirius tuner can be plugged in and that the radio has a control mode for tuning and using it.

Don't feel bad - a lot of people get tricked by the Sirius (or XM) ready logo - it doesn't mean a whole lot.

ncretired 07-25-2008 01:02 PM

Thanks for all your help. I did check the manual and found the diagram. I have a "portable" Sirius radio that I have been using - I'm just going to continue using that and forget the "Sirius Ready" radio.

Gadget Man 07-26-2008 08:40 AM

Are you sure you don't have the Sirius tuner? My coach came with the same stereo. I too couldn't get the radio to give me the ESN, even after spending 20 minutes on the phone with Sirius.

I took the coach back the dealer that I bought it from (it was a used unit), and the service dept. was finally able to retrieve the number for me. It gave them a hard time as well.

Armed with the ESN obtained by the dealer, I was able to activate the Sirius receiver.

Craig

historyljc 07-26-2008 11:55 AM

Have you checked your radio manual? The ESN for mine was in the included paper work for the radio when I bought the coach.

buck62 07-28-2008 10:07 AM

My motorhome came with Sirius also and had sattelite ready radio. First you need to determine if indeed you have the Sirius service then you need to find the external Sirius tuner box that is connected to your radio. On the tuner box is the ESN number you will need to activate your service. After I went through a lot of questions and answers with Sirius on how to find my ESN for my radio and nothing worked I called my dealer and they told me where the tuner box was located and that the ESN was on a sticker attached to the box. Found the box used the ESN and was able to activate my radio.

george henry 07-28-2008 05:54 PM

Ncretired .Welcome to iRV2.com

steelheadbluesman 07-28-2008 08:00 PM

Welcome aboard ncretired! I bought a rig that is "sirius ready" but that's all I know, I haven't tried to activate it. So, I'm hoping you will keep us posted, and we'll all learn a little more about this (if you decide to pursue it) http://irv2.infopop.cc/images/smash.gif

riggarob 07-28-2008 09:07 PM

Hi,and welcome. My last 2 rigs had Sirius installed, the box was under the dash, drivers side. You can tell by the Sirius logo on the box. Also, if you're so inclined, you can climb up on the roof. If you look around the fwd section, you will see a small Easter egg shaped antenna. If you have that, you're ready to go. Robbie

ncretired 08-04-2008 06:30 AM

Thanks for all the advice and help. I went to the Winnebago/Itasca Rally held at the factory in Forest City, Iowa and asked them for help. They confirmed that the radio was definitely Sirius "ready" but was not Sirius equipped. They could install the tuner, cables and antenna for $560, parts and labor. That made the decision easy - I have decided to keep using my portable unit. Again thanks for the help and welcomes.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.