iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Monaco Owner's Forum (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/)
-   -   Generator (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/generator-42244.html)

Flyer 01-30-2008 11:09 AM

Has anyone modified, or thought about modifying, their RV generator to use as an emergency generator for their home? I now have a 5KW gas generator I use to input power through a GENTRAN panel in case we lose power. But, I have always been curious about adding a 220v output from my RV generator to do the same thing. I would get more output, 8KW vs 5KW, and use less fuel. Any thoughts?

Flyer 01-30-2008 11:09 AM

Has anyone modified, or thought about modifying, their RV generator to use as an emergency generator for their home? I now have a 5KW gas generator I use to input power through a GENTRAN panel in case we lose power. But, I have always been curious about adding a 220v output from my RV generator to do the same thing. I would get more output, 8KW vs 5KW, and use less fuel. Any thoughts?

Letsgoagain 01-30-2008 12:11 PM

Flyer,
Every time the power goes out I think about it alot. I haven't done anything though.
As you said there would have to be some sort of plug on your generator to get the full use of it.
This is gettting a little off the topic but a friend who although isn't an electrician said for small emergency use I could power a few things in the house just by running a cord from an outlet on the motorhome to a plug in the house. Electricity taking the path of least resistance will flow to the other home outlets. Let me state HE DID STRESS that I would have to kill the main circuits on the incoming power feed so it wouldn't feed back into the grid.
I think I would be to chicken to try it for fear of blowing something up but if it mean't freezing to death or pipes bursting in the house I would give it a try. I'm sure someone will be on here shortly to give me heck about this idea.
It sounds like from your post that you already have a safeguard in place to prevent any backfeed problems.
I'm interested to see what the more knowledgable folks have to say and what they might have done already.
Letsgoagain

Two Bit 01-30-2008 12:33 PM

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Letsgoagain:
Flyer,
I'm sure someone will be on here shortly to give me heck about this idea.
Letsgoagain </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

OK you wanted for someone to give you heck about this so I will. That is a very good way to kill someone and / or burn something down. I can see why your friend is NOT an electrician. Please do it right with a transfer switch and the proper connections. It doesn't cost that much.
***************
Flyer,
Some RV generators are capable of 220 output to a transfer switch (that is what your Gentran panel does). You could use it to power the house through the gentran switch. Make sure your RV generator doesn't send power to the 5KW generator (even if that one is not running). The two generators must stay electrically isolated from each other at all times. So disconnect the unused generator from the circuit. Use an electrician.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.