iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class C Motorhome Discussions (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f87/)
-   -   Too much on electric (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f87/too-much-on-electric-426300.html)

Cinders1 01-09-2019 10:34 AM

Too much on electric
 
So our ‘virgin overnight’ was in Kanab, UT last weekend. We had played around with all the RV appliances, etc., several times, but had not slept in the coach (2018 Thor, Four Winds, 24’). Well it was a cluster. Our hot water, heater and fridge could not be on the camps electric without blowing a fuse. Went through 3 and by then the local stores were closed. Used a space heater and it was bearable. Next day, we got more fuses (hubby THOUGHT he had multiples of ALL but missed the 7.5). Anyway, found out that we can’t have heat, hot water AND fridge on 30 amp. We moved the hot water to propane and all worked. Called a Thor dealer and service said that’s the way it works - can’t have everything g on 30amps. “You have to pick and choose.” So my question is, if we’re ever in a 50 amp locale, would we still need the propane? Anybody else ever have this issue?

LJowdy 01-09-2019 10:40 AM

Unless your coach is wired for 50 amp service, you're stuck with only 30 amp's. I know I'll get a lot of flack over this but """BASICALLY""" 50 amp service, although in reality, is 240 volts, is in reality, 2 different circuits. One is 30 amps and the other is 20 amps. The reason I said in reality it's 240 volts is because it has 2 hot wires, each 120 volts. But again, it's really 2 circuits as 50 amp coaches only run on 120 volts.

So back to your question. Your coach is probably wired strictly for 30 amp service.
You have 3 prongs on your service plug. Hot, neutral and ground. A 50 amp plug has 4 prongs. (2) are hot, one is neutral and the other is ground.

A32Deuce 01-09-2019 10:45 AM

Yes. Your unit is 30 amp. That's all you can draw. Only benefit with hooking to a 50 amp, usually a tighter plug and in the summer when a lot of amperage draw in a Camp Ground, you will get a full 30 amps. If it doesn't work on 30 it won't on 50. Sorry. My fridge is colder on propane and water heater recovers faster on propane. That's two I don't worry about.

Mr_D 01-09-2019 10:47 AM

Post #2 is wrong.
A 50 amp circuit is 2 - 50 amp breakers so you potentially have 100 amps or 12,000 watts with 120 volts or 50 amps of 240.
A 30 amp is 3,600 watts.

A32Deuce 01-09-2019 10:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr_D (Post 4581157)
The above answer is wrong.
A 50 amp RV circuit is 2 50 amp breakers so you actually have potentially 100 amps or 12,000 watts.
A 30 amp is only 3,600 watts.

I think you mean ljoudy.

twinboat 01-09-2019 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LJowdy (Post 4581150)
Unless your coach is wired for 50 amp service, you're stuck with only 30 amp's. I know I'll get a lot of flack over this but """BASICALLY""" 50 amp service, although in reality, is 240 volts, is in reality, 2 different circuits. One is 30 amps and the other is 20 amps. The reason I said in reality it's 240 volts is because it has 2 hot wires, each 120 volts. But again, it's really 2 circuits as 50 amp coaches only run on 120 volts.

So back to your question. Your coach is probably wired strictly for 30 amp service.
You have 3 prongs on your service plug. Hot, neutral and ground. A 50 amp plug has 4 prongs. (2) are hot, one is neutral and the other is ground.

Basically, 50 amp service is 50 and 50 amps. Not 30 and 20 amps.

This*50-amp*service*has 4 wires with two 120-volt HOT feeds.*It is a*misconception*that this 50-amp RV service is something special.This service is a STANDARD 120/240 50-amp 3 pole with 4 prongs used for*numerousapplications.*

http://www.myrv.us/electric/Pg/50amp_Service.htm

cavie 01-09-2019 11:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cinders1 (Post 4581142)
So our ‘virgin overnight’ was in Kanab, UT last weekend. We had played around with all the RV appliances, etc., several times, but had not slept in the coach (2018 Thor, Four Winds, 24’). Well it was a cluster. Our hot water, heater and fridge could not be on the camps electric without blowing a fuse. Went through 3 and by then the local stores were closed. Used a space heater and it was bearable. Next day, we got more fuses (hubby THOUGHT he had multiples of ALL but missed the 7.5). Anyway, found out that we can’t have heat, hot water AND fridge on 30 amp. We moved the hot water to propane and all worked. Called a Thor dealer and service said that’s the way it works - can’t have everything g on 30amps. “You have to pick and choose.” So my question is, if we’re ever in a 50 amp locale, would we still need the propane? Anybody else ever have this issue?

if your trailer is 30 amps, that's it you can use only 30 amps of load. You can't plug a 30 amp into a 50 amp service. Put water heater on propane when you want to plug in an electric heater or just use the gas furnace.

Old-Biscuit 01-09-2019 11:27 AM

Yes you have a 30A power cord....just one HOT....3600W total


But you mention blowing a FUSE and needing more (went thru 3 fuses) and had to get more???


Used space heater ??


SO your issue is NOT 120V AC usage (not tripping circuit breaker) BUT is a 12V DC issue (blowing fuse)....which sounds like Furnace Fuse (has to use space heater)


Fridge DC Source would be on separate Fuse
Water Heater DC Source would be on separate Fuse
Furnace DC Source would be on separate Fuse


Depending on BRAND/MODEL ---furnace DC Fuse should be 10A


So which FUSE is blowing?

cavie 01-09-2019 11:28 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LJowdy (Post 4581150)
Unless your coach is wired for 50 amp service, you're stuck with only 30 amp's. I know I'll get a lot of flack over this but """BASICALLY""" 50 amp service, although in reality, is 240 volts, is in reality, 2 different circuits. One is 30 amps and the other is 20 amps. The reason I said in reality it's 240 volts is because it has 2 hot wires, each 120 volts. But again, it's really 2 circuits as 50 amp coaches only run on 120 volts.

So back to your question. Your coach is probably wired strictly for 30 amp service.
You have 3 prongs on your service plug. Hot, neutral and ground. A 50 amp plug has 4 prongs. (2) are hot, one is neutral and the other is ground.

Basically, you are wrong sir and I am gonna give you flack.:D A 50 amp service is, in fact, a full 50 amps on each leg NOT 30 and 20 It's 50 amps L1 and 50 amps L2 with 240 volts between L1 and L2.


Also, newer upscale coaches, in fact, do use 240 volts for the dryer and cooktop.:thumb:

ScoobyDoo 01-09-2019 11:34 AM

I'm hard of understanding, your RV uses fuses on the 120V? Most use circuit breaker for 120, and fuses on 12 AFAIK...

bob caldwell 01-09-2019 12:10 PM

And you can use a 50 amp adapter to plug your 30 amp plug into....but still 30 amps....some parks 30 amp services might all be taken, so with the adaptor, take a 50 amp spot..and when you get tired of buying fuses, they make a resettable fuse that looks and fits where the automotive type fuse fits.....they're used in school buses, and I'm using them....

bob caldwell 01-09-2019 12:18 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Just one exampleAttachment 231419......the little red button is what one pushes to reset...

Podivin 01-09-2019 12:31 PM

If you RV is wired for 30 amps (3 prongs on the plug into the RV), then yes it's always going to work that way, regardless of whether or not there is a 50 amp outlet in the site.

If your RV is wired for 50 amps (4 prongs on the plug into the RV) then you would be able to run all of the things you mentioned at the same time when plugged in to a 50 amp outlet.

harleyjt 01-09-2019 12:37 PM

I'm still not sure what fuses are blowing. Sounds like maybe 12v fuses? If so that has nothing to do with the 30A service. We're not getting good complete information. If a space heater worked then certainly the propane furnace should work.
jt


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.