iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Travel Trailer Discussion (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f50/)
-   -   Fleetwood Fema Trailer Slide-Out (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f50/fleetwood-fema-trailer-slide-out-75965.html)

tncampman 09-23-2010 12:54 PM

Fleetwood Fema Trailer Slide-Out

Hello All! I am new to the travel trailer gig.............and loving it!! I have a quick question that I am hoping someone will be able to help me answer.

The trailer I purchased is a FEMA Trailer (no worries......I aired it out!!) it has a slide on it and the only way to get the slide out is to crawl under the trailer with an adjustable wrench and crank the slide out one turn at a time.

Does anyone have an easier suggestion for doing this?? I know you can actually but a motor on it with a switch on the inside, but wanted to see if someone had come up with a better idea to do it manually

Thanks!

GPW 09-24-2010 06:22 AM

TN, That does sound like a big PIA ! You have a pic of the area/mechanism in question? ... Schmaybe ' you could find a suitable motor/device from a Fema trailer dealer, or some type of hand crank , like those found on stabilizer jacks ??? ... Guessing the manufacturer was just trying to save a buck ... Most of the people here who lived in them , knew Nothing about trailers , and everything was done by the maintenance personnel ..

tncampman 09-24-2010 07:33 PM

GPW - You are right it is a huge pain!! I will take a pic and post if for you to see if you have any other suggestions. Thanks

tmh462 09-24-2010 09:07 PM

We had one of those go through the shop a month or so back, and I fabricated a socket to go on the end of my cordless drill to run it.
Depending on what the end of the shaft looks like on yours, you may be able to modify an old tongue jack motor to use.

Have you changed any of the electric appliances over to LP yet?

Ray,IN 09-24-2010 10:07 PM