iRV2 Forums

iRV2 Forums (http://www.irv2.com/forums/)
-   Class A Motorhome Discussions (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/)
-   -   duo therm heat pump (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f258/duo-therm-heat-pump-83223.html)

rpiper 01-19-2011 08:35 AM

duo therm heat pump
 
I have dual duo therm heat pumps on my coach, while running in heat mode once the desired inside temp is reached the front unit shuts off, but the rear unit never shuts down. Has anyone run into this problem and if so what might the fix have been?

Mike Canter 01-19-2011 09:28 AM

A question is if you lower the temp way down will it shut off. So if you know the temp of the MH interior is 70* and you put the thermostat on 60* then will it shut down? If not then gouble check the thermostat setting for the FAN. If it is in AUTO then the unit will shut down the fan when the heat pump shuts after the set temp is reached. If in LOW, HIGH setting then the FAN will stay running but the compressor for the heat pump will shut off making it seem to run all the time.

Does your thermostat have a remote temp probe under a little plastic dome away from the thermostat?

"007" 01-19-2011 09:49 AM

Did you program the second zone for rear HP temperture and is your sensor on wall OK sometimes the wire with sensor falls into wall cavity.
Welcome to irv2.

rpiper 01-19-2011 09:51 AM

No the rear unit will not shut down at all but heats and cools just fine, it just goes to the extreme. The front unit shuts down when temp is reached with no problem. There is a little plastic dome in bedroom, when removed there is a wire protruding from cabinets behind plastic dome, I suspect this is a remote sensor.

rpiper 01-19-2011 09:54 AM

007-I have removed cap off of what I think is the rear sensor and all that is there is a wire. As far as zones, I believe my coach may only be set up for one zone, or either I can't figure out how to change zones. I have tried every button on thermostat and it still stays on zone 1.

"007" 01-19-2011 10:00 AM

Go to section B 1d for instructions.
The wire has a ceramic sensor on end of it or at least it should.
If you have a 5 button use this PDF.
You can find this info in Newmar Quick Tips.

rpiper 01-19-2011 10:14 AM

007 you are my hero, after seeing how to change zones I tried it. Zone 2 in my coach was set at 85 degrees, and as you can imagine sleeping in 85 degrees is tough. After changing auto temp on zone 2 unit shut down with no problem. Again, thank you very much.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.