Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2007, 06:23 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Hello,

My wife and I just bought our first MH it's a 03 Winnebago Minnie 31C. We pick it up next Friday. As with any big purchase you start to second guess if it's the right choice, so I thought I would see what some of your thoughts are regarding this MH. It has 37,100 miles on it, the dealer has no maintenance records, however has all the manuals. the dealer is giving a 30 day "deluxe" warranty. The MH seems to be in good shape, I looked around with a flash light in the closet's and so forth checking for water damage, I could not find any, but I am no expert. The dealer told me everything works that the our aware of they seem like good people? Originally they were asking $54,000 then dropped it to $47,000 when I first started looking at it, we went back and forth and was able to get them down to $36,500 I took it for a test drive and when we got back that's when I said I would take it.

Everything happened so fast I really never looked under the hood or anything like that. One of my questions is 37,000 miles a lot for an 03? Will things start to need replaced soon, or should I be ok for a year or two? Besides the dealer's 30 day warranty, they are offering an extended warranty through Star, is this something to consider? It's pretty pricey, $3,262.00 for 4year/48,000 miles, it looks like it covers a lot of things, but again what do I know, this is our first MH. Is there anything else I should be worried about or check into before I pick it up next Friday and sign the papers?

We plan on using the MH for various activities, I road race motor cycles so we will be taking it to the tracks towing an enclosed trailer. We like to Muskie fish so we will also be towing our boat with it and putting it in and out of the water with the MH. Do I need to beef up the transmission or put a cooler on it?