Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-21-2016, 06:01 PM   #1

How to remove dash instrument cluster on a 1996 Vectra ?

Hello,

I am a newbie here.

I need some information on my 1996 Winnebago Vectra WKM34RQ Diesel Pusher motorhome on a Freightliner X-Line Chassis. It has a Cummins 5.9 diesel engine.

I would like some information on how to remove the instrument cluster. My tachometer rarely (but occasionally) works. I have verified that the signal from the magnetic pickup in the bell housing is getting to a connector in the rear of the dashboard. I think the problem is in the tachometer itself. My RV is old school and does not use a Vehicle Data Unit (VDU) nor does it have a Data Bus for all of the gauges.

I have the back cover of the instrument panel off, but I believe the front dash bezel has to come off, and then the instrument cluster comes out the front. I could be wrong. I have all of the screws out that I could find, but the front dash bezel does not want to come off.

I will try to attach a photo of my instrument cluster.

I think the dashboards for Winnebago Class A around my year (1996) are very similar for both Gas and Diesel RVs.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
SuperDad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!