Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-03-2008, 06:17 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

I am relatively new to RVs. I made my purchase back in October. Since I am not a full timer (yet), I go by my storage lot and start my engine and generator and let it idle every two weeks or so.

Is this a smart thing to do or am I actually causing wear and possible damage to my unit?

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

36' 2003 Winnebago Journey
Dan Bowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 06:17 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I am relatively new to RVs. I made my purchase back in October. Since I am not a full timer (yet), I go by my storage lot and start my engine and generator and let it idle every two weeks or so.

Is this a smart thing to do or am I actually causing wear and possible damage to my unit?

Thanks,

Old 01-03-2008, 06:51 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

I think it's a good idea to start the engine every few weeks. I would let it run long enough for the engine to completely warm up in order to eliminate condensation that will form in the exhaust system..

The generator should be run under load for at least a half hour...a full hour would be better. If it's too cold to operate the AC as the load, a hair dryer or electric heater will provide the necessary load.

Others may have different opinions...this is what has always worked for me.

'05 Minnie 29B
gypsynut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2008, 07:10 AM   #4
Winnebago Camper

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Dan Bowman:

Thanks, </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

It seemed like the right thing to do but then I started doubting my decision to do it. Thanks for the idea on the tires. I will add that to my routine.

Thanks,

Old 01-03-2008, 07:11 AM   #5
Winnebago Camper