Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2006, 01:40 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

I am new to IRV2 and hope this is an appropriate post for this forum.

We just took our new motorhome on its maiden voyage. The first day was fine but then we decided to use the toilet for solids. Within six hours the inside of the coach except for the bathroom and the entire area around the coach towards the rear smelled like rotten eggs (H2S). I went to the roof to see if the roof vent was plugged and I could not find one. We flushed the black and grey tanks. Neither were more the 25% full. About two hours after flushing the smell was escentially gone. I work in sewage treatment plants and none are as bad as this was.

During this ordeal, all the windows were open and no fans were on. I do not see how we could have created a negative pressure inside the coach. The smell outside was equally bad. There were no spots of moisture on the ground. We had added a deoderizer to the grey and black tanks but not until we had the smell.

Any suggestions? Where should I look for a vent or is there an activated charcoal filter? It is like a vent was never installed and the tank is venting into the coach.

Thanks,

WCChuck

2006 Itasca Merdian 32 T
wcchuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 01:40 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I am new to IRV2 and hope this is an appropriate post for this forum.