Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-18-2020, 01:47 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire MACA3560-Generator and What are these Plugs in Gen Bay

Hi I recently purchased a 2002 Newmar Mountain Aire, I believe it is a MACA3560 on a Workhorse W22 Chassis.

I am new to RVing and have a few things to learn, I am fairly handy with some DIY work and have a good knowlege of electrical wiring haveing been an IBEW member and an electronic technician and HAM radio operator. I am not a generator expert but I have used them in my career on many occassions.

I am trying to get the old Generac Primepact 66G working. The previous owner who had it for 3 years said the generator worked and that it was LP Gas. He said he only ran it 3 times. It has 370 Hours on it. He was a young guy in his late 20's and he only went by what the prvious owner told him.

The generator would not start, I checked the oil, it was full. My LP Propane was at 3/4 tank and turned on. Still the generator would not start,

Well, I suspected this was a Gasoline Generator, not LP Propane. I was looking at some YouTube Videos of work being done on a Primepact 55G that looks very similaar and saw the generator on a bench being fed from a gas can. I also read the model would be a 66LP if it was propane after doing more research.