RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2015, 11:04 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
2016 Dutch Star cable switch

We sold out Phaeton and bought a 2016 4312. Loving it so far. On our first trip, however, we are unable to get the cable feed to work on the TVs. Antenae works fine, but when we switch to mcable on the TVs we get nothing but snow. Any suggestions? Is there a switch that we have to engage? I know the cable works because we are running the internet with it.
__________________

CZHipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2015, 11:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CoreyinWP's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
Posts: 1,460
turn off the antenna amplifier?
__________________

__________________
Corey and Tammi
2017 Ventana 4369
2015 Buick Enclave
1360W Solar, BattleBorn LiPo 800ah
CoreyinWP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
VP Chianese's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZHipster View Post
We sold out Phaeton and bought a 2016 4312. Loving it so far. On our first trip, however, we are unable to get the cable feed to work on the TVs. Antenae works fine, but when we switch to mcable on the TVs we get nothing but snow. Any suggestions? Is there a switch that we have to engage? I know the cable works because we are running the internet with it.
As Corey said. It is on the right side behind the passenger door. The main antenna switch. Then on the TV switch to cable in the Apps then do the channel search.
__________________
Vinny, Sandy and JD a Working Portuguese Water Dog
2018 DS DP 4369 #607121 Cummins ISL9 450 HP
"We are from, where ever we were yesterday"
VP Chianese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:27 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 4,030
You'll also probably need to rescan for channels, and possibly change "inputs" on the TV as the cable channels are different than the OTA ones.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:36 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 2
I did turn off the amplifier and we got no love on teh channel search. We tried on cable and antenae mode. I will tryi it on another tv and see if we can make it work. Thanks for the advice
CZHipster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 12:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Norm Mac's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 807
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZHipster View Post
We sold out Phaeton and bought a 2016 4312. Loving it so far. On our first trip, however, we are unable to get the cable feed to work on the TVs. Antenae works fine, but when we switch to mcable on the TVs we get nothing but snow. Any suggestions? Is there a switch that we have to engage? I know the cable works because we are running the internet with it.
How do you have it connected to run the internet?
__________________
Norm & Ellen Proud to be one of the HOOTS
2015 Newmar DutchStar 4369
If I knew retirement was so much fun, I would have done it in my twenties!
Norm Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 01:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
HavingABlast's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2,756
2016 Dutch Star cable switch

Did you select "cable" on the TV before you did the Channel search? We had our coach for about two weeks....could not get a channel when hooked up to cable. Over the air worked okay. I finally gave up and called Newmar customer service. The guy told me about the antenna boost button. He said that they get this question all of the time. He also admitted that they, Newmar, don't do a good job in documenting the antenna boost button and how to use it.

Best of luck !
__________________

HavingABlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dutch star



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 Dutch Star Factory Delivery and Two Month Review CapuTech Newmar Owner's Forum 68 10-30-2015 02:15 PM
2016 Dutch Star Questions LK23 Newmar Owner's Forum 2 10-27-2015 08:11 AM
Help! Ventana 3636 or Dutch Star 3736 Slydog Newmar Owner's Forum 24 07-12-2015 06:28 PM
2016 Dutch Star AzGoldDigger Newmar Owner's Forum 21 05-14-2015 09:07 AM
Dutch Star vs Ventana wagonmaster2 Newmar Owner's Forum 67 11-25-2014 07:01 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×