RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2020, 07:15 AM   #1
Member
 
drhines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Benton, AR
Posts: 31
Send a message via ICQ to drhines
2021 Dutchstar Tire Monitors Question

I have a 2021 DS on order with Spartan Chassis. I have heard that people are having trouble with the tire monitor system that comes on the newer coaches.

I have a 15 DS now and I use the TST tire monitors for coach and toad. Can I still use my TST system on the new coach?

Also does anyone know if you can disable the tire monitor system that comes on the coach if it has problems. I have used the TST system for 11 years now with zero problems.
__________________
Doug Hines
2015 Dutch Star 4369
"Tailwinds Always"
drhines is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-23-2020, 02:49 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 26
So glad you asked this question. We are having trouble with our 2020 DS.
__________________
Proud Newmar Owner, 2020 Dutch Star
Smmast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 03:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
ShelbyTom1's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 215
What problems are you having?
We added the Valor TPMS sensors to our toad so we get all the information on the dash.
It works well, but once in a while one of the sensors on the Coach tires show blank. It is not always the same tires.
__________________
Tom & Nancy & Dandy the Wonder Dog
2020 Dutch Star 4081 Spartan Chassis towing a 2013 Ford Explorer Sport
2000 Mountain Aire given to the next generation
ShelbyTom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 03:46 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 26
We have been in to Freightliner twice, only had the coach since July 31st. The first time we got readings on both tire pressure and temperature that were obviously wrong. Got temp readings of 401 degrees. The second time because the temp were high again, this time rear tire read 179 degrees. No answers
__________________
Proud Newmar Owner, 2020 Dutch Star
Smmast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 04:17 PM   #5
Community Moderator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 6,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhines View Post
I have a 15 DS now and I use the TST tire monitors for coach and toad. Can I still use my TST system on the new coach?
To answer your initial question, yes you can still use your TST system. The sensors on it are external while the other is internal in the wheel. They should not interfere with each other.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 07:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 47
Hi all,

I just finished spending time with Don Rigby, Valor. His company provides the internal and dash TPMS for Freightliner and Spartan. They are aware of the problem, which is the location of the antennae wire to pick up the signal to all tires. Spartan has the fix. Freightliner will have the fix soon or has it but has not rolled it out. Just call your Freightliner or Spartan dealer and they will fix it under warranty. I have the toad also on the system. Love it. You should be getting a 401 pressure 136 degree reading when the sensor and antennae lose contact. It moves around. Not perfect but a pretty sweet system overall. We should be good soon on this general problem. Hats off to Valor for working to correct this for us.

BobbyJ
State College PA
2020 DSDP 4369
2015 Yukon XL (black with a gold pin stripe for Steeler Nation). AF1 Braking. Valor TPMS
Bobbyj56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dutchstar, monitor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire sealant chemistry and tire pressure monitors terry735001 MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 10-25-2014 05:48 AM
Tire pressure monitors Sumar Damon 5 11-27-2007 05:37 PM
Tire Pressure Monitors GaryG MH-General Discussions & Problems 21 10-08-2007 02:14 PM
tire pressure monitors Cramalot MH-General Discussions & Problems 13 06-16-2007 09:28 PM
Tire pressure monitors Jestme13 MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 12-12-2006 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.