RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2020, 10:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
A/C controller

I am having issues with the A/Cs on my 2006 Newmar Dutch Star
Two of them stopped working and I plan on replacing them.
Does anyone know where i would fine the A/C controller
I have the 5 button thermostat.
Gordy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-21-2020, 06:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
rvbiker45's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Dallas, TX area
Posts: 446
How did the A/Cs stop working? Both at the same time? If so, strange.
Have you done a thermostat reset? Does the thermostat have power indicated by the face being illuminated. Touch any button to see if the light turns on. If it does illuminate, you have power to the thermostat. Then do a reset by turning the T-stat off. There is a black switch on the bottom, move it to off. Then, press on the top and bottom buttons on the face of the T-stat and hold them in while moving the on-off switch to on. Continue holding the buttons in until the screen shows ff in the display. Now release the buttons and the T-stat is reset.
Select what mode you want on the T-stat. I would suggest selecting the Fan only mode to see if the T-stat is talking to the roof units. The fans should come on immediately. If a cool or heat mode is selected, there is about a 3-minute delay before the units come on.
If there is no illumination of the T-stat when going through the reset process, check the fuse, I think it is a 7.5 amp. It will be located in the bed room panels somewhere near the major breaker panel. There will be a bunch of fuses on a fuse block. They should be labeled. Check that it is good, remove and replace even if you think it is OK.
__________________
Don and Marilynn
'04 Newmar Dutch Star 4010
Spartan Chassis/Cummins ISL 400
rvbiker45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 10:53 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
A/C units

Both A/C units were running fine until late evening then one made aloud bang and quit running all together the other just blew hot air and now will not do anything
All the controls work ie thermo
I just need to locate the controller to see if it is compatible with newer style A/C units.
I already removed one of the units, does any one know how to bench test these
I realize that u need 110 ac power to the unit but how do you excite it to get it running
Gordy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 11:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 259
Just bypass the thermostat/controller, energize the unit on the bench with 120VAC at the connection lugs for the compressor and fan...You may have a start/run capacitor problem, check them all.
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Terra LX
Workhorse W22 8.1 Allison
garyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 12:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 3,419
The controllers are above the filter return in each A/C pull the filter down you will see them. Zone 1 normally the front one is the master rear zone 2 is the slave.
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350, F53, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags, Koni Shocks, Blue OX TruCenter, TigerTrak track bars F&R, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar, 2004 F450 Lariat Pickup 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW, 4X4, GVWR 15,000, Front GAWR 6,000, Rear GAWR 11,000, GCWR 26,000, 1994 36ft Avion 5er, GVWR 13,700, 2,740 Pin Weight.
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 09:53 AM   #6
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 43,404
You don't say what A/C units you have but on my Dometic Penguin II units the control boards are separate in each unit. I have to remove the shroud on top and then take off a cover to get to the control board. The only thing other than that is the thermostat that controls both units.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 01:23 PM   #7
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 574
shop for AC parts on pplmotorhomes or dyers.com. Pretty much our old AC equipment is incompatible with anything new. You will need the 10 button dometic controller. In addition to the 2ACs, you will probably need to replace the furnace controller.
__________________
2006 Newmar Essex 4502
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee
azSkier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 11:00 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 3
A/C units

Ok here is the latest, I called NewMar support today and the controllers are inside each unit along with the capacitors etc
I have I believe one Dometic Penguin 1 and two Penguin 11, some one must have replaced at one time.
The Penguin 1 is now off the roof and on the ground and sure enough the controller is inside
Now as I asked before how does one test these I connected 110v ac to the appropriate leads and of course it will not run unless there is an excited wire
to start.
Think about this you have constant power going up to the unit something else starts it.
I plan on removing the Penguin 11 this weekend.
By the way I own an electrical company and have my own scissor lift to get these units down
For you readers check out my web site (DoubleTroubleHotRod.com)
this is what I do when I am not fixing my motor home
Gordy53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric brake controller vs. Electric over hydraulic brake controller Appy Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 1 08-23-2017 11:21 AM
Bounder: Location of Brake Controller Plug to install aux controller Heavy-13 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 04-30-2015 12:58 PM
Can this controller be sub'd for that controller? wildbill001 RV Systems & Appliances 2 09-06-2012 08:36 PM
Brake Controller for Trailer retalarver Fleetwood Owner's Forum 4 04-28-2009 12:35 PM
Brake Controller controlled Toad Brakes? afrank1971 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 11-23-2008 04:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.