Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2021, 10:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 31
Adding 2nd Air Conditioner

Looking at a 2002 33' MACA (3357) but want to make sure I can add a 2nd A/C before purchasing, since I live in the desert. It already has 50 amp electrical service with one Penguin 13.5 A/C.

Has anyone added a second A/C? Does anyone anticipate a problem?


Thanks guys,
Trvlngrs
Trvlngnrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2021, 10:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Rockwood27's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Freedom, NH
Posts: 1,226
Is the RV pre-wired for the 2nd A/C? One possibility to check for this is there an additional circuit breaker for A/C #2? There may be a covered electrical box in the bedroom ceiling, near the roof vent.

Dometic is constantly changing their A/Cs and their thermostats. The latest thermostat is the "CCC2", which requires a new control board or box. Your old Penguin may not "talk" to the new Penguin II A/C. If you install a non-ducted model then you won't have to worry about it. In either case (ducted or non-ducted), you'll need the appropriate ceiling mounting kit. The Penguin series is bolted from the outside, using lag bolts.
__________________
Fran, Mary & Zoey (silver Cocker)
2012 Roadtrek 190 Popular & 2015 Montana HC 343RL
'16 Chevy Sonic LTZ Auto Hatchback 4-down
Rockwood27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 09:14 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 31
Thank's Rockwood.. Since the Mountain Aire has ducting in place, do you know if I can I install a non-ducted AC?
Trvlngnrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 09:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
mbridinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 909
Put in a mini split.
__________________
1992 Bounder 28T, Chevy 454, Yak Rak
2001 tacoma 4x4 TOAD
ROLL TIDE
mbridinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 09:45 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trvlngnrs View Post
Thank's Rockwood.. Since the Mountain Aire has ducting in place, do you know if I can I install a non-ducted AC?
If it has ducted ceiling and the wiring exists then it should be a simple install. I wouldn't put a non ducted if I could avoid it.

If the thermostat wiring isn't present you may be able to fish the wiring through the ducts to the front unit where it would plug in. The key is if there is 110v wiring already in the area you want to put the ac.

With no thermostat wiring available there is still a way to control the unit wirelessly with your phone. Again, I would put a ducted unit up instead of a non ducted unit.
Fefanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 10:14 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 417
According to the 2002 brochure, that coach was not offered with two ac units.

Look at your 120v breaker box. Does it have a breaker for a second ac or a spot for one?
bentjm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 10:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 31
Thanks for the advice guys. The owner and I agreed on a price so I'm flying to Cleveland on the 27th to drive the MACA home. Now I'll know what to look for regarding a 2nd A/C.
Trvlngnrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2021, 11:17 PM   #8
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 3,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trvlngnrs View Post
Thanks for the advice guys. The owner and I agreed on a price so I'm flying to Cleveland on the 27th to drive the MACA home. Now I'll know what to look for regarding a 2nd A/C.
If you see a tan Georgetown heading south on I-71 on the 28th that'll be us.

We live about 20 miles south of Cleveland, OH.

Unless you meant Cleveland, TN, of course...

Ray
__________________
2020 Forest River Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2021, 06:48 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by NXR View Post
If you see a tan Georgetown heading south on I-71 on the 28th that'll be us.
We live about 20 miles south of Cleveland, OH. Unless you meant Cleveland, TN, of course... Ray
Nope, Cleveland OH. I didn't even know there was a Cleveland TN!

Hoping the weather stays good so I can get back to St George, UT in a 3-4 days.
Trvlngnrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2021, 08:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dutchstar411's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trvlngnrs View Post
Looking at a 2002 33' MACA (3357) but want to make sure I can add a 2nd A/C before purchasing, since I live in the desert. It already has 50 amp electrical service with one Penguin 13.5 A/C.

Has anyone added a second A/C? Does anyone anticipate a problem?


Thanks guys,
Trvlngrs
If you have a Fantastic Fan vent that could be used for a new AC install since it's the same dimensions, look at the thread I did on adding a 3rd AC in my 2015 Dutch Star. Some ideas to help you I'm sure. Good luck with whatever you decide.

https://www.irv2.com/forums/f103/jus...dp-540051.html
__________________
Ted & Nancy with our fur kids Mr. Vincent & Miss Daisy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 3852
Dutchstar411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2021, 05:31 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Rendon, Texas
Posts: 1,218
If you have a vent in that area, you should be able to install an AC unit at the vent. Electrical can be an issue, but you could always install the electrical where you have to use a n extension cord to get your power from the pedestal. Our friends have done this and now can hang meat in their RV.
__________________
May your smiles be many and the miles be plenty.

Karen & Allen Van Zandt
txcpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air, air conditioner



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd Air Conditioner dougsmith51 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 05-14-2020 05:07 PM
Convert 30 amp to 50 amp and added a 2nd Air Conditioner robval1987 MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 09-09-2017 03:13 PM
2nd Air conditioner install... With pics! EMD_Driver RV Systems & Appliances 7 09-18-2012 02:00 PM
2nd air conditioner Roger Watts Excel Owner's Forum 8 02-13-2007 06:26 PM
Adding Air Conditioner Vette Racer RV Systems & Appliances 5 12-04-2006 06:11 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.