Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2019, 02:23 PM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
"007"'s Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,786
Not sure if this might help, now.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2019, 03:28 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach & Key West , FL
Posts: 3,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkhorses View Post
My setup is like yours so it appears that if any of the AC units calls for cooling the G
AGS will call for the Gen to start. So that doesn't really work for us. Looks like we will have to go with power out then start the gen.
What do you mean by " power out then start the gen " ?

We had an instance where there was a momentary blip in the power and the genset started due to the AC demand. The power came back on at the pedestal
but the genset continued to run, I assume due to the AC call for cooling on the hot day we were having
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:36 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
tlkhorses's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 467
It's my understanding that for a power outage the Gen will run for a set time, then check for power outage again. I may be off on that a little bit. I don't have my manuals here so can't read up on it.
__________________
Terri & Maria, Staci, Penny, Bailey and the rest of our Norwich Terriers
2019 Newmar Ventana 4369
2015 Ford Edge Titanium
tlkhorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 08:43 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
tlkhorses's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 467
I don't have Silverleaf in the Ventana just the Magnum rc. Seems there was some issue about the power outage. Like it would only my start if the batteries reached a certain level. So it wasn't a true power outage check. That would also be an issue since we have the pups in there with A.C. on. It's been over 100 here in Tx several days so that would be bad also.
__________________
Terri & Maria, Staci, Penny, Bailey and the rest of our Norwich Terriers
2019 Newmar Ventana 4369
2015 Ford Edge Titanium
tlkhorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 09:16 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkhorses View Post
I don't have Silverleaf in the Ventana just the Magnum rc. Seems there was some issue about the power outage. Like it would only my start if the batteries reached a certain level. So it wasn't a true power outage check. That would also be an issue since we have the pups in there with A.C. on. It's been over 100 here in Tx several days so that would be bad also.
That's why I set mine to temperature, external input and then 30 minutes on the run time.

So, if shore power goes out and the thermostat is calling for cooling, the generator starts.

I'm also worried about digs and when I was in Branson over the fourth, the park had power problems so my generator started several times.
__________________
2019 VTDP 4369 (Spartan)
Wrangler JLU / AF1 Braking / Rock Hard Bumper
2018 Thor ACE 30.3
tnedator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 09:17 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,376
Is there any way to keep the generator in auto start mode all the tine? It seems like when the engine is started, the auto start function is disabled.
__________________
2019 VTDP 4369 (Spartan)
Wrangler JLU / AF1 Braking / Rock Hard Bumper
2018 Thor ACE 30.3
tnedator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 10:01 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
tlkhorses's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnedator View Post
That's why I set mine to temperature, external input and then 30 minutes on the run time.

So, if shore power goes out and the thermostat is calling for cooling, the generator starts.

I'm also worried about digs and when I was in Branson over the fourth, the park had power problems so my generator started several times.
Thats going to be the way to go. Does it start if any of the ACs call for cooling or can it be set for or is for a particular zone?
__________________
Terri & Maria, Staci, Penny, Bailey and the rest of our Norwich Terriers
2019 Newmar Ventana 4369
2015 Ford Edge Titanium
tlkhorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 10:05 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlkhorses View Post
Thats going to be the way to go. Does it start if any of the ACs call for cooling or can it be set for or is for a particular zone?
My assumption, but I have not tested, is that it's if any zone is calling for cooling.

Keep in mind, it seems that the "enabled" setting reverts to "disabled" when you start the engine (or something else), so every time you park you need to re-enable auto start. It keeps the settings such as run time, external temp input, etc., just not the enabled setting.

I'm hoping there is a way to make that enabled value sticky, but so far I have not found it.
__________________
2019 VTDP 4369 (Spartan)
Wrangler JLU / AF1 Braking / Rock Hard Bumper
2018 Thor ACE 30.3
tnedator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:05 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
tlkhorses's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 467
I looked at the manuals and found the following:
AC In
The inverter/charger is connected to another source such as a grid or an alternate generator, and is not controlled by the AGS. When AC In displays, the AGS is prevented or locked out from all autostarting conditions, except for when the generator needs to exerciseóif enabled.

So I would think that once the shore power comes back on autostart is prevented.

I haven't found anything about it being disabled by the engine running.
__________________
Terri & Maria, Staci, Penny, Bailey and the rest of our Norwich Terriers
2019 Newmar Ventana 4369
2015 Ford Edge Titanium
tlkhorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 04:03 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnedator View Post
My assumption, but I have not tested, is that it's if any zone is calling for cooling.

Keep in mind, it seems that the "enabled" setting reverts to "disabled" when you start the engine (or something else), so every time you park you need to re-enable auto start. It keeps the settings such as run time, external temp input, etc., just not the enabled setting.

I'm hoping there is a way to make that enabled value sticky, but so far I have not found it.
Under "08 AGS Tech" settings, scroll to "AGS Mode". There are two settings" RV or Other. Setting it to "Other" instead of RV will do what you are asking for.

As far as for the generator staying on as long as there is call for A/C, I had a lengthy discussion with a Magnum tech. Basically, that's the way it works and there is no way to change that. I'm thinking that because the transfer switch has switched to the Generator, the AGS has no way of knowing that power is back at the pedestal.

I haven't had time yet but I'm planning to build a line monitor and interface into the AGS to make the Generator stop if power is back for a certain amount of time, e.g. 5 minutes. As you, we are concerned about our pets in the coach and even though it's great the generator came on, I don't want it to run out of gas if we are gone all day.

Regards,
Dan
dxg0001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 04:34 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
tnedator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxg0001 View Post
Under "08 AGS Tech" settings, scroll to "AGS Mode". There are two settings" RV or Other. Setting it to "Other" instead of RV will do what you are asking for.

As far as for the generator staying on as long as there is call for A/C, I had a lengthy discussion with a Magnum tech. Basically, that's the way it works and there is no way to change that. I'm thinking that because the transfer switch has switched to the Generator, the AGS has no way of knowing that power is back at the pedestal.

I haven't had time yet but I'm planning to build a line monitor and interface into the AGS to make the Generator stop if power is back for a certain amount of time, e.g. 5 minutes. As you, we are concerned about our pets in the coach and even though it's great the generator came on, I don't want it to run out of gas if we are gone all day.

Regards,
Dan
Interesting. So, unlike a home generator where the transfer switch communicates back to the generator that utility power is back, on the RV's they must be more isolated/non-communicating.

Thanks for that setting. While I try to always remember to turn off the AC before disconnecting shore power, so power isn't just pulled from the air conditioners, it's really important with this setting, or the generator will simply fire up right away as soon as pulling power. That will help reinforce what I've tried to make a habit anyway.
__________________
2019 VTDP 4369 (Spartan)
Wrangler JLU / AF1 Braking / Rock Hard Bumper
2018 Thor ACE 30.3
tnedator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help install AGS - network version jimbo2013 Newmar Owner's Forum 9 05-05-2017 04:45 PM
AGS Plain vanilla version KIX RV Systems & Appliances 9 02-09-2012 03:21 PM
myGarmin - Firmware Updates DriVer Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 7 05-13-2011 05:50 PM
MotoSat Television Controller Firmware Updates Spikester Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 03-26-2009 08:27 AM
Firmware version bruceh Allison Transmission Forum 2 01-26-2008 10:02 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.