Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-18-2010, 05:01 PM   #1

Air Force One - HELP!

As previously indicated, I am new to the Class A business with purchase of a 2004 KSDP. Studying weights and towing systems, I have come to the conclusion that I will tow a 2000 Escalade with a Class 4 Blue Ox tow bar; and install Air Force One brake system for supplemental proportional braking.

I have a friend and mentor who doesn't know much about the RV business - but who has a couple of million miles in long haul trucking who is mild mannered and often helpful in steering me in directions which have generally proven most helpful.

When I told him this evening that the coach would be modified by cutting into the pneumatic brake system on the coach, he threw an absolute fit. His thesis was that if the toad broke away or for some reason the air line system to it was broken, I would lose pressure in one of the air tanks - perhaps at a moment when I needed it badly.

I assume that there is an answer to this - but given that I am new to the whole matter, I didn't have it. Which of course left me understanding that I'm flying partly (:-)) blind.

Perhaps one of you kind souls will enlighten me, please.

Thanks so much.

Jim Baird
bairdofl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!