RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2014, 07:35 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
Basement Fridge - Not Pre-Wired

I would like to add a basement portable freezer to my 2005 Kountry Star Gas coach. There are no pre-wired 12v outlets in the basement that I can find. I could come straight off of the batteries with a 12v HD extension cord but wanted to find out what others have done to solve this issue. There are plenty of 120v outlets but of course that wouldn't provide power while on the road. The coach also doesn't have an inverter.
__________________

vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-30-2014, 07:43 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,645
On our old coach I just ran my own 12 gauge wire off the batteries. Put a 20 amp fuse at the battery end.

That covered every freezer makers voltage requirements.
__________________

__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 09:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
Just spent some time crawling around under the coach. Looks like I would have to drill a hole in the compartment to run the wire, not something I relish doing.
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 09:18 PM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,118
Do you have a inverter on passenger side for the front TV & Tape outlets you have 12v battery and 110 volts there.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2014, 09:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by 007
Do you have a inverter on passenger side for the front TV & Tape outlets you have 12v battery and 110 volts there.
My Norcold manual said to wire directly from the batteries.

I ran wires inside blue conduit which I was able to run under each of the basement door hinges.
__________________
2001 Mountain Aire DP 4095 & 2008 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
DISH TV for RVs
TechWriter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:24 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ramets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Conway, SC
Posts: 2,527
I have a 12v light near where I put my fridge. I just patched into it.
__________________
2000 Dutch Star Pusher
2009 Saturn Vue Towed
Full timed for 6yrs.
Ramets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 05:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by "007" View Post
Do you have a inverter on passenger side for the front TV & Tape outlets you have 12v battery and 110 volts there.
No, no inverter and the compartments appear to be pretty well sealed off. I do have the basement 12v lights but was afraid it would draw too much power off of a light. My rear compartment has the larger doors and a light with 120v outlets once I plug in.
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 07:31 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,118
I have run the 12v refrigerator box off the 12v light circuits in compartments or a 110 outlet off inverter which has adapter down to 12v for fridge had no problem either way..
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 08:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
This is all good information. Thanks.
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechWriter View Post
My Norcold manual said to wire directly from the batteries.

I ran wires inside blue conduit which I was able to run under each of the basement door hinges.
Where did you get the blue conduit?
__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star 3742 - Gas
2018 Chevrolet Colorado Toad
Roadmaster Tow Setup
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 07:23 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Mike_Harriet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 862
My '03' Dutch Star, had some #10 wires mixed in with the wiring to my WeatherPro awning control box in the first bay behind passenger. They were well hidden, but also marked for freezer.
Mike_Harriet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 11:02 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mikee409's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Bridge City Texas
Posts: 235
My 01 Dutch Star has the same wires as above post.
__________________
Mike, Stacy,Preston. Dutch & Artie, our German Short Haired Pointers
2018-27PE Winnebago Vista , 2015 Jeep Wrangler toad

10/18/19 Dutch has passed but still with us in our hearts :(
mikee409 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 04:50 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4,527
Well, today I bought some conduit and ran #10 wire straight from the battery to the compartment where the freezer will reside. It is much easier working under the coach than the Vette, lots more room
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star 3742 - Gas
2018 Chevrolet Colorado Toad
Roadmaster Tow Setup
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on a Basement Fridge? Bama96 Entegra Owner's Forum 19 09-11-2014 11:03 AM
Older Dometic RV Fridge TahoeTravel Travel Trailer Discussion 6 05-12-2014 01:30 AM
Fridge Replacement rvjimzhr Class A Motorhome Discussions 52 03-20-2014 03:42 PM
Fridge Problem Rossi6998 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 22 01-10-2014 08:02 AM
My Dometic 3Way Fridge On Propane Libero RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-04-2013 04:40 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×