Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-18-2018, 03:56 PM   #1

Battery Management in the New Aire

There have been many threads dealing with the issue of battery management in the New Aire. While I am not an expert in this area, I thought it would be helpful to share my views about this issue. Since I don't have complete schematic diagrams for the New Aire, my comments here reflect my best effort to reverse engineer the electrical systems in this coach as a basis to reflect on options to better manage the batteries in the coach. Much of this discussion will apply to other SilverLeaf coaches. The KA with dual inverters may be the exception.

The New Aire has two battery systems: eight AGM coach batteries and two chassis batteries. These two system are interconnected by a charge bridge solenoid. This solenoid is controlled by the TM102 SilverLeaf module which open and closes the relay under certain circumstances to link the two battery systems. The charge bridge solenoid can be opened and closed manually by using the "Battery Boost" switch in the cockpit. To the best of my knowledge there are no other connections between the coach and chassis electrical systems.