RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2016, 01:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 81
Brake controller

On a Dutch star 2017 do you need a brake controller when pulling a trailer, or is one installed at the factory
__________________

vett is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2016, 04:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Norm Mac's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central Massachusetts
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by vett View Post
On a Dutch star 2017 do you need a brake controller when pulling a trailer, or is one installed at the factory
Yes, you will need a brake controller. We use a Prodigy on our DutchStar.

Freightliner has a wiring harness tucked up under the dash. The plug on the harness is incompatible with any brake controller I have ever seen but you can easily cut off the plug and tap into the wires with the Prodigy plug.

I am assuming that Spartan also provides a wiring harness for the brake controller but I do not have direct knowledge of that.
__________________
Norm & Ellen Proud to be one of the HOOTS
2015 Newmar DutchStar 4369
If I knew retirement was so much fun, I would have done it in my twenties!
Norm Mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounder: Location of Brake Controller Plug to install aux controller Heavy-13 Fleetwood Owner's Forum 2 04-30-2015 12:58 PM
Brake Controller with Exhaust Brake? Born2RV Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 9 03-23-2011 05:25 PM
Exhaust Brake and Brake Controller in Motorhome? Born2RV Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 3 03-21-2011 10:17 AM
Brake buddy versus Brake controller? Born2RV Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 14 10-15-2009 07:48 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×