RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2017, 04:24 PM   #1
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Cable hookups?

I can't seam to connect the parks cable to my coach. In the electric compartment there is a spot that looks like I connect the cable but when I do it does nothing.

1999 DSDP 3856 Cummins/Allison
__________________

BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-15-2017, 04:27 PM   #2
Community Moderator
 
Spk64's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 9,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJerry View Post
I can't seam to connect the parks cable to my coach. In the electric compartment there is a spot that looks like I connect the cable but when I do it does nothing.

1999 DSDP 3856 Cummins/Allison


Since you have a 1999 vintage coach. Do you still have 1999 vintage TV's?
If so they are most likely not up to the new digital standards and will not receive anything from cable.
__________________

__________________
Steve
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire 4095
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bobsharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 274
Find the antenna/cable control panel. There should be a small LED switch press to turn off light and antenna amp. This also switches power to the cable port.
__________________
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037, 2010 Chevy Equinox LTZ
Roadmaster tow stuff, Winegard Trav'ler SWM/DirecTV
2+2 USAF Retired, 2IDGITS
bobsharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:45 PM   #4
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
I don't have the old TV any more. However I do have the old push button switch for the antenna /aux stuff.
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:47 PM   #5
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Click image for larger version

Name:	1502837189586.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	326.9 KB
ID:	173096
Maybe this photo will help?
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bob caldwell's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Vancouver Wash
Posts: 5,855
After connecting cable, turn amp off, select cable on tv menu, scan for channels....
__________________
2010 Rockwood Sig Ultra lite 5er 8280......'99 Ram 2500, Cummins. 4x4.....Pullrite Superglide.......Use to work in calender factory.....got fired for tak'n a few days off.....RV Mutant 186
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bobsharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 274
Yep, the old pushbutton switch button needs to be pushed and like Bob Caldwell says, scan for channels.
__________________
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037, 2010 Chevy Equinox LTZ
Roadmaster tow stuff, Winegard Trav'ler SWM/DirecTV
2+2 USAF Retired, 2IDGITS
bobsharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 05:34 PM   #8
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Ok, I'll give it a shot!
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2017, 09:09 PM   #9
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Those things didn't work. I'm going to try a cable coupler for a male to male connecter.
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 08:24 AM   #10
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Any other suggestions for the cable tv hookups? Still can't get it to work?
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 09:42 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jager's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Vermont
Posts: 353
Well I have a 2007 and have the same problems. I have no clue. I don't seem to be able to plug the cable into the coach and get anything to work . . . no matter what I'm doing. Just to prove to myself that we know what we're doing we connected the cable directly to the TV and "scan'ed" it. Worked perfectly. So I'm STILL trying to figure out how to make the cable entrance to the coach work.

But hey . . . at least we got to see Saturday nights race ;-)
__________________
Tom
2007 Newmar Essex 4510, 500 hp Cummins
Jager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 10:30 AM   #12
Member
 
BigJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
I've not tried that yet. It's starting to frustrate me and I might just have to run a long cable line thru a window to the TV!!
BigJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 01:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Qwert66's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 875
Send a message via Skype™ to Qwert66
Cable hookups?

In our AV cabinet there is a short coax patch cord connecting 2 coax wall plates in the ceiling. Without that cord ours didn't work, does now. Has to do with the roof dish which we currently don't use. The 2 ceiling (wall plates) are labeled. Worth a try as Long as your 12vdc antenna power is turned off.
We have a 1999 madp so may be similar.
__________________
1999 Newmar Mountain Aire MADP 4080, Cummins ISC 8.3L, Allison, Spartan MM IFS, Howard Power Center, Chev Trailblazer LTZ Towed w/ BlueOx rigging, Segway X2.
www.shaw11.com
Qwert66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 01:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
reubenray's Avatar




 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lake Osprey RV Resort, Elberta, AL
Posts: 4,446
Don't trust the labeling. I had a connection that was labeled "Cable" and it was actually "Sat 1".
__________________

__________________
Raymond, Dee Dee and Sophie (Yorkie)
2017 Ventana LE 4037 -
2016 Chevrolet Equinox - V6 - AWD
reubenray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable Hookups at a campground Mayberry32 Travel Trailer Discussion 18 04-02-2017 06:39 AM
What are cable hookups in most parks like? TrollMeister Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 05-23-2015 06:15 AM
RV hookups at home!? TCayer MH-General Discussions & Problems 14 07-08-2007 02:37 AM
Parking Lot Camping with Hookups George Miklas iRV2.com General Discussion 3 08-27-2005 11:02 AM
Generator Hookups Poppy Chazz RV Systems & Appliances 3 05-02-2005 09:07 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×