Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-05-2018, 09:52 AM   #1

Can a locked exterior door still come open?

I lock all exterior storage doors before driving off. It's part of my walk-around. I'm a long time pilot. I triple check things. I say these words out loud: lock sideways (meaning it's locked) as I walk around examining the doors.

So, after driving on the road all day, I exit and at a red light, a car is honking it's horn and signaling me that something is wrong. DW opens the entry door and sees the front storage door, closest to the front entry door, is open. She slams the door shut, and I pull over.

I"m thinking maybe I didn't lock the door but see the door is locked. I try to open it and can't. I unlock it, everything looks fine, and lock it again.

I've examined the lock, experimented with it, always keep it lubed, can't find a thing wrong here. I can't pull the door open when it's locked. IT's possible to open the door, lock it while open, slam it, and it's locked.

I don't want this happening again. I might duct tape it and ask the factory for advice as I travel there next week.

Any advice or clue as to what's happening? I know I locked the door. It had to open while locked. No big bumps on the highway. 3,000 miles of road and this is a first.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!