Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2005, 03:57 AM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have a question. Can you run one a/c while plugged in to just 30amp service? The book doesn't cover this. Not that I plan on it but would be nice to know.
2002 KSDP
  Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-23-2005, 03:57 AM   #2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have a question. Can you run one a/c while plugged in to just 30amp service? The book doesn't cover this. Not that I plan on it but would be nice to know.
2002 KSDP
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 05:09 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Newmarket, Ont
Posts: 210
With modern Power Saver type A/Cs only consuming about 7 to 8 amps, I can run two of these type of A/Cs on a mere 15 amp circuit. As ambient temperatures rise, so does the current draw, so I may not be able to run both A/Cs on a 15 amp circuit if temperatures climbed to over 100 degrees.

It is probable that Newmar installed Power Saver A/Cs on your rig, so running both of your A/Cs simultaneously on a 30 amp isn't going to be a problem at any temperature.
Stan Birch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2005, 06:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
edgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 9,847
DEREK: The simple answer is YES. You will have NO TROUBLE running ONE a/c on a 30 amp feed. You will also be able to run "other stuff" simultaneously. Maybe NOT the convection/microwave and the a/c, at the same time, but smaller 110V appliances, definitely.
ENJOY your new coach! ED
edgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 01:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 144
I run ONE A/C unit on a 20 amp circuit regularly so you should have no trouble at all with the 30 amp. Just keep a real close eye on other things and when the amperage is close I make sure the HW electric element is OFF.
__________________
2003 DSDP 4005
Fillitup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2005, 06:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl.
Posts: 578
While my DS is parked at the house and plugged into a 30amp circuit,I keep one of the airs running full time.
__________________
Tom, Pat and Buster (the Boston terrier)

2004 DSDP 3807, 370HP Spartan
tmitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:21 AM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The reason I ask is that I had the coach pluged into a 30amp recept and could not get the a/c to come on. I only had 1 zone turned on.
Just trying to figure if I had things set right.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:35 AM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,765
Derek, the one AC up front will also cool in the bedroom on ZONE 1 during the day time. When you go to bed switch to Zone 2 to cool bedroom at night and rear AC will cool up front on a 20amp 115 outlet, 30amp should run both AC's. "007"
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
tmitchell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Punta Gorda, Fl.
Posts: 578
Derek,
How long did you wait for the air to start? There's been more than one time it seemed like mine took several minutes to start up, normally they start up within 2-3 minutes.
I don't seem to notice how long they take when I am setting up at a campground since I am busy at other things. When the motor home is parked at the house and I go out and turn on the air is when it seems to take a long time to start, but then I am just sitting there waiting on it. There has been more than once on both of my motor homes when I thought something was broken when I had to wait longer then what I thought was normal.
__________________
Tom, Pat and Buster (the Boston terrier)

2004 DSDP 3807, 370HP Spartan
tmitchell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 02:29 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dundee Mi.
Posts: 51
How about running a A/C on a cord running 120 feet plugged into a 15 amp outlet? We do this every year when we volunteer at this place. We put the fridge and water heater on LP. At home with 30 amps I can run two a/c units or one and a mircorave easily. Also when on lower amp circuits I can program my battery charging circuit so that I will use very little power.'
The big problem with running two a/c uints is the starting power.
__________________
Gerald Wessel
Jerry Wessel KA8MBK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can heatpump run on 20/30 amp service? sunnydays RV Systems & Appliances 14 12-11-2007 07:05 PM
Run 1 15K air on 20 amp? E Z Livin MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 07-06-2007 05:10 PM
front brakes run hot on the first run of the day--why? DougJ Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 7 09-16-2006 12:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.