RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2019, 09:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Can't Seem to Connect to OTA Antenna.

This is the first time since we bought the coach we don't have satellite view and are wanting to use the OTA antenna. I've set up the 3 indoor TVs to use the OTA but no luck.

Without being able to access the roof I suppose it is possible that the antenna connection is bad but I just had a roof inspection at Newmar without that being identified. However, I don't know if they specifically looked at that connection.

Any thoughts on what Capt. Obvious is missing?
__________________

__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2019, 09:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 420
Not to be a smart a** but are there broadcast TV stations within range? First things first.
__________________

arcaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
look for a antenna selector switch box
__________________
2000 Southwind 32v and a 03 Tracker 5 speed 2WD toad, Roadmaster off road tow bar & 2" drop hitch
Jyrocharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcaguy View Post
Not to be a smart a** but are there broadcast TV stations within range? First things first.
Capt. Obvious THINK there are some in range. LOL I'm in the middle of the Greenville-Spartanburg SC area and not out in the boonies. Even without any aiming I would think I can pick up at least a whiff of a signal.

BUT...not a bad question.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tranquil Jim's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Washington State or Western Montana, depending on the season.
Posts: 3,287
Is your OTA signal amplifier on?

TJ
__________________
Jim (W7DHC), Diane & Mini Schnauzers, Lizzy & Ellie
2018 Mountain Aire 4047 + 2014 Honda CR-V "toad" w/AF1
Tranquil Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:09 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyrocharlie View Post
look for a antenna selector switch box
I don't think I have a separate sector switch but perhaps someone with my coach model can tell me where it would be if I had one.

I did have a "bomb" (box of many buttons) in my previous coach.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranquil Jim View Post
Is your OTA signal amplifier on?

TJ
I don't know that I have one. Where is yours?
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 311
If that rv has 3 TV's

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
I don't think I have a separate sector switch but perhaps someone with my coach model can tell me where it would be if I had one.

I did have a "bomb" (box of many buttons) in my previous coach.
I bet you do. Usually it's located close to where the antenna comes in from the roof, in a cabinet.
This was one answer I found: it should be in the cabinet about the drivers seat. Open that cabinet and if all of your cables are the old coax style, you will also have a Quest VCC - box of many buttons. If you have this, on the left side is a power button with an LED when powered. When powered, the box sends a 12 volt signal back to the antenna.
__________________
2000 Southwind 32v and a 03 Tracker 5 speed 2WD toad, Roadmaster off road tow bar & 2" drop hitch
Jyrocharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:26 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyrocharlie View Post
I bet you do. Usually it's located close to where the antenna comes in from the roof, in a cabinet.
AH HA! I don't have a BOMB but I did find the antenna amp button!

It is not located in any obvious place. It actually sorta looks like a 12V power outlet just behind the passenger seat but has a small button on it to power the antenna amp. Out of sight, out of mind.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Tranquil Jim's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Washington State or Western Montana, depending on the season.
Posts: 3,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
I don't know that I have one. Where is yours?
In our 2018 MADP it is located on the switch panel in the front overhead compartment above the driver's seat. On our 2014 Ventana LE, it was a push-button on the Winegard box on the wall behind the passenger seat.

TJ
__________________
Jim (W7DHC), Diane & Mini Schnauzers, Lizzy & Ellie
2018 Mountain Aire 4047 + 2014 Honda CR-V "toad" w/AF1
Tranquil Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:28 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
CaptainGizmo's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Glendora, CA
Posts: 991
Can't Seem to Connect to OTA Antenna.

Just in case itís so obvious, that you missed, or forgot it, you DID remember to go into the TV menu and do the AUTO ADD CHANNELS.

Also, the Winegard OTA box should be showing that itís locked onto a number of channels.

HTH
__________________
Steve & Janice
2019 Dutch Star 4369
"We're late to the party!"
CaptainGizmo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainGizmo View Post
Just in case itís so obvious, that you missed, or forgot it, you DID remember to go into the TV menu and do the AUTO ADD CHANNELS.

Also, the Winegard OTA box should be showing that itís locked onto a number of channels.

HTH
Yep...I did the add channels thing and after I found a power button It went from 0 to 72 digital channels. Except for the outlet/power switch I found on the wall next to the copilot seat, I don't have any Winegard OTA box showing any numbers.
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 09:41 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tranquil Jim View Post
In our 2018 MADP it is located on the switch panel in the front overhead compartment above the driver's seat. On our 2014 Ventana LE, it was a push-button on the Winegard box on the wall behind the passenger seat.

TJ
Yep...mine is like you Ventana! THANKS!
__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 2015 DSDP 4320 4369, FL Chassis, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 05:19 PM   #14
Member
 
Bobkat3080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Wherever the jacks are down!
Posts: 33
We had the same problem on our new Bay Star. We replaced the antenna, then the amp with no success while we were in AZ. A month or so ago I read about a continuity tester for coax on one of these forums. I ordered it from Amazon and tested the coax. The gadget says there is a short in the line. Now that we're home I've an appointment with the dealer on Monday to get it looked at and fixed.

I also ID'd all the ends of all the coax in the rig.

It is from Jonard Tools and is Model PT300.
__________________

__________________
2018 Newmar Bay Star 3414 & 2018 Ford Focus Hatchback & 2003 GoldWing 1800
Bobkat3080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connect :: 2018 KZ Connect 312BHK sheaves99 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 05-13-2019 02:11 PM
Bounder: I don't seem to have a Sirius antenna on my new bounder 35k Brandonrv Fleetwood Owner's Forum 25 10-08-2015 05:31 PM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
I can't seem to stay here. JudyH Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Forum Concerns 4 06-17-2012 04:59 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×