RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2015, 09:51 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 375
Can't tune dish throughout coach

I wanted to move my Dish receiver to the back bedroom for a short spell while I was sick, so I could watch some football back there. When I plugged it in, it couldn't see the Winegard dish on the roof.

After I got better, I took it out to the external TV and plugged it into that cable. Also no dice.

My DishNetwork receiver can only "see" the satellite dish when plugged into the coax that terminates in the front cabinet. Does anyone know why? Does anyone know if all of these coax runs are just connected together behind the scenes? I don't know where to look to see where they are doing the joining/splitting.
__________________

__________________
Newell p2000i "The Enterprise"
nebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-20-2015, 10:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 222
If I remember correctly, the front receiver is the one that tells the dish which way to point etc. It must be connected for the system to work.
__________________

__________________
2020 Newmar Dutch Star 4310 on Spartan Chassis
2017 Lincoln MKX
Owned: '15, '16, '17, '18, '19 Dutch Star
CentILRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 11:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by CentILRVer View Post
If I remember correctly, the front receiver is the one that tells the dish which way to point etc. It must be connected for the system to work.
Thanks for replying. I'm not sure I follow: are you thinking that there are different coax lines running from the front to the dish as opposed to from other parts of the coach? That would certainly explain why I can't get any signal elsewhere.
__________________
Newell p2000i "The Enterprise"
nebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 05:34 AM   #4
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebster View Post
I wanted to move my Dish receiver to the back bedroom for a short spell while I was sick, so I could watch some football back there. When I plugged it in, it couldn't see the Winegard dish on the roof.



After I got better, I took it out to the external TV and plugged it into that cable. Also no dice.



My DishNetwork receiver can only "see" the satellite dish when plugged into the coax that terminates in the front cabinet. Does anyone know why? Does anyone know if all of these coax runs are just connected together behind the scenes? I don't know where to look to see where they are doing the joining/splitting.

The coax in the front where your dish is normally connected, runs straight to the roof and the satellite dish up there.

The other coaxes you were attempting to connect to are part of your over the air/park cable system. They are connected only to the antenna on the roof to receive ota broadcast signals or by flipping a switch near the front door, park cable. They do not connect in any way to your satellite dish.
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 05:57 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 4,106
We often think of Satellite tv working as Cable or Antenna tv, with shared coax wiring, but Sat coax signal lines are usually run separately to each tv/receiver connection - which is why the coach 'Bomb' is not generally useful for Sat connections, unless you only want a single 'main' tv to watch the Sat.
Most of us want ALL our tvs to be able to watch Sat, which requires a wholly different wiring process.
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Fulshear Texas
Posts: 97
Man I really hope newmarpusher is wrong.

I am picking up my 2015 DS this week. On my Ventana LE (2015 3812) I connected the dish receiver to the coax in the bedroom along with the HDMI cable and got connectivity to the sat. On the DS it also has a coax and HDMI input. Is it not the same?

I am assuming that you have connected both the coax and the HDMI cable? Have you checker the AV source on the TV?
mpm2433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 06:25 AM   #7
RV Nut
 
newmarpusher's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,897
Blog Entries: 3
Can't tune dish throughout coach

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpm2433 View Post
Man I really hope newmarpusher is wrong.

I am picking up my 2015 DS this week. On my Ventana LE (2015 3812) I connected the dish receiver to the coax in the bedroom along with the HDMI cable and got connectivity to the sat. On the DS it also has a coax and HDMI input. Is it not the same?

I am assuming that you have connected both the coax and the HDMI cable? Have you checker the AV source on the TV?

Depending on the type of satellite dish you have installed, there are likely two coax cables running from the dish. One to the front cabinet, one to the rear bedroom. This allows two receivers to be attached to the single dish. These two coax runs are separate and distinct from the OTA coax running to every tv the OP was attempting to connect to.
__________________

2015 Newmar Ventana 4037 - All Electric
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon TOAD
newmarpusher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 04:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,034
Nebster, check out this thread. It may have all the info you need. If not, ask TechWriter. He seems to know all about Dish.
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f53/dish-...ms-186898.html
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 375
Hey guys,

So, if as newmarpusher explains it, there's only one coax feed from the Winegard on the roof, then it makes perfect sense to me. I guess I'd for some reason been imagining that the OTA and satellite signals were just carried together on the same wires.

I think what maybe threw me was the idea that the "amplifier" button was explained to be to be "on for OTA and off for park cable or satellite." In fact, that wouldn't be true: the "amplifier" button would be on for OTA, if needed, and off for cable -- full stop.

Looks like I'll need a wireless HDMI transceiver to send the satellite to the bedroom, which is fine. Not what I'd choose, but not a big deal for the rare time I might use it.

Thanks all!
__________________
Newell p2000i "The Enterprise"
nebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebster View Post
Looks like I'll need a wireless HDMI transceiver to send the satellite to the bedroom, which is fine. Not what I'd choose, but not a big deal for the rare time I might use it.

Thanks all!
I'm still not sure that is true. I may have missed it, but I don't find where you told us what Winegard model you have and what model Dish receiver you are using. Both would make a big difference on how you can hook-up.
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikelm48 View Post
I'm still not sure that is true. I may have missed it, but I don't find where you told us what Winegard model you have and what model Dish receiver you are using. Both would make a big difference on how you can hook-up.
I'm pretty sure it's irrelevant, because the bedroom TV has no HDMI feed from the front cabin?

But in case I'm wrong: I have the single-LNB in-motion winegard that has to occasionally switch sats for spot beam, and I have the lowest end small receiver that doesn't have a DVR and only outputs to one device. The first because I didn't option the rig myself, and the second because I essentially only use the satellite to watch one game of college sports at a time, once a week or so. I never watch OTA or satellite TV proper.

So yeah, I think I'm up the proverbial creek.
__________________
Newell p2000i "The Enterprise"
nebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 04:26 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,034
If you are using the Dish 211K or Z, you should be able to send SD to your rear TV with the receiver connected up front. You can only watch the same channel on both TVs.
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 04:46 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikelm48 View Post
If you are using the Dish 211K or Z, you should be able to send SD to your rear TV with the receiver connected up front. You can only watch the same channel on both TVs.
Sounds promising. I'm not sure which 211 I have, but I remember it's the one without an OTA tuner.

How would I get the SD back to the rear monitor, though?
__________________
Newell p2000i "The Enterprise"
nebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 05:21 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 1,034
It's probably the 211Z unless it is old. There should be an "SD Out" on the rear of the receiver, if I remember correctly, you just hook your coax to it. Either directly or through your video distribution (not sure what you have on a new DS).
__________________

__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frustrating day trying to get DISH Network info MikeGriffin Newmar Owner's Forum 18 09-03-2015 06:31 PM
DISH Pay as you Go Madness newmarpusher Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 23 12-15-2014 06:35 PM
Coach Net - You decide OSP1268 iRV2.com General Discussion 5 06-01-2014 10:19 AM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 08:38 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×