Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-06-2021, 05:06 PM   #1

Chassis and House battery charging

I'm a newbie, so please have patience with me. I recently purchased a 98 Dutch Star DP3658. Haven't taken her out camping yet because I want to get as familiarized as much as i can before I do.

I wrote all details, maybe too much:

I have her on shore power at my house and I the voltage at the chassis battery were 12.25, House battery were 13.06 (Trickle charging).
I thought they were charged independently so I read some where to connect in parallel the house with the chassis batteries to charge with shore power (thru charger)at the same time.
Checked the next day, I unplugged shore power and disconnected the jumper cables and tested the voltages after a few minutes. Chassis batteries were up to 12.83V, House batteries a little higher 12.9V.
Looked all good so I plugged in shore power and went to reconnect the jumper cables to leave them all charging together, but stupid me I inverted the cables and of course it sparked. I checked the voltages again with the charger powered up and now I have the same voltage at both house and chassis batteries without the jumper cables.
This means both house and chassis batteries are being charged by the charger.
I started the engine and both batteries house and chassis have the alternator voltage 13.85 V
Figured I screwed up something, found two blown fuses at the BIRD. Replaced them, still getting charger/alternator voltage at both batteries.