RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2007, 07:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
clnhse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 168
on a o8 dutchstar where does the coax cable from the power plug go to. There is a phone plug and a coax cable fiting in the compartment that the 50 amp plug stores in. where does this cable go to. It does not connect to the sat box.......I need it to be able to connect to the sat box when the auto sat is blocked by trees....
__________________

__________________
2011 Mountain Aire 4336
clnhse is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-30-2007, 07:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
clnhse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 168
on a o8 dutchstar where does the coax cable from the power plug go to. There is a phone plug and a coax cable fiting in the compartment that the 50 amp plug stores in. where does this cable go to. It does not connect to the sat box.......I need it to be able to connect to the sat box when the auto sat is blocked by trees....
__________________

__________________
2011 Mountain Aire 4336
clnhse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 08:33 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Max Hubrich's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pikeville, NC
Posts: 1,764
Chnlse-- I have an '02 Mountain Aire. The coax cable tv plug in, by the power cord, goes to your entertainment selector box (or the satellite receiver) in the front, upper cabinet (in my rig). lt then goes through the selector and goes to the rear tv. I got rid of the sony selector box, added a second Satellite receiver in the rear, and put a dual LNB on the KVH dome. I ran a second coax cable to the second Sat receiver. I have two independent TV's now. If trees are in the way- which is almost always, I put out my tripod, with a dual LNB antenna, (I have direct TV), and put one input into the cable TV coax input and the second one into the rear satellite receiver-- I put a double female connector into the rear cap of the motor home and simply unscrew the second receiver cable from the KVH antenna and screw on the second external antenna coax into this double female fitting. I use an A-B switch to shift from the KVH up front to the external antenna located clear of the trees,etc. My Winegard bat wing antenna works fine and both TV's are able to switch back and forth from satellite to local channels independetly of each other. My next challenge is HD in the future. That field is constantly changing as far as automatic dome coverage for multiple satellites is concerned. I'll wait till it smoothes out. I'm not a TV Tech but this set up serves me well in-- two rigs now. If you come through Virginia (near Richmond) anytime soon, send me an email, through this, site and I can direct you to an outstanding guy in that area that can set you. Good luck, Max H
__________________
Max H,
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire, 37', 3778, W-22, 8.1 Vortac, Ultra Power upgrade, CAI (cold air intake), Taylor wires, colder plugs, Koni shocks.
Max Hubrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2007, 01:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 74
clnhse I've had good success connecting the tripod sat to the cable connection in the 50amp closet and then switching the cable in cable to the sat in on the receiver. You have to change the two cables back to again use the auto sat.
aubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI and Coax moisheh Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 06-25-2008 06:30 AM
Essex TV Coax Wiring Lee Bornstein Newmar Owner's Forum 6 03-30-2008 10:42 AM
Loose Coax Cable CoronaGirl Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 11-13-2006 05:46 AM
Television cable and satellite cable routing wagonmaster2 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 05-10-2006 08:33 AM
Dual coax question Danny Gayhart Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 04-30-2006 06:14 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×