RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2020, 08:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 94
? For those with a 5 button duo therm thermostat and furnace w/heatpumps.

OK, I am starting to get upset at Duo Therm. We are now on our third 5 button thermostat in the last year. We had the original fail in December and replaced with new. Now the replacement failed and we purchased another one two days ago.

It's working but when I run the heat pump it will stop after some time and we can hear compressor running. I assumed it was pumping freon back into chamber.

Now the issue. Once the pump down happens the heat pump fan will come back on for about 5 seconds, shut off, and the furnace will come on.

Now I know we are in the low 40's from outside temps. I also know the heat pump is not very efficient at that temperature.

The previous thermostats never shut down heat pump and started the furnace as a alternative. The display on the thermostat still says in heat pump mode. Is it possible the new updated thermostat will automatically switch modes? Does anyone with one of these have similar results?

There's nothing in the manual that came with the thermostat that mentions doing something like this.
Fefanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-26-2020, 07:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CaptainJerry's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SW VA
Posts: 143
I cannot comment on some of the details of the sequence of events you describe. However, I do know that if you have the thermostat set to heat pump and the outside temperature gets below 40 degrees, the furnace will come on because the heat pump just can't capture enough heat from the outside air below 40. My sticks and bricks home heating system operates the same way.
__________________
Jerry and Georgia
'03 Mountain Aire 38' on W22 (8.1 L gas)
2015 GMC Canyon All Terrain towed 4 down
CaptainJerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2020, 09:27 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 94
This didn't happen until this thermostat was replaced. We have replaced the thermostat and the control board in the ac/heat pump unit. The thermostats just go dark and won't power on. I talked with the previous owner last night and he told me he replaced it twice himself and that it never did automatically transfer.

I did find a a manual online that says if the aux option is selected it would transfer from heatpump to furnace when outside temps go under 30 degrees. That didn't happen and we don't have a aux option on the thermostat.

Right now the best I can figure is the thermostat is a updated version and the paperwork isn't up to date with the current version. I will contact Duo Therm and see if I get a response. I also need to find out why these are burning out or why they just quit. In the case of this thermostat it was working until I powered it off during the day since the outside temp was in the 80's. That night the temps started dropping and it wouldn't power back on. Just like the others that went bad. At over $100.00 per pop this is getting expensive.
Fefanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, furnace, heat, hose, thermostat



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duo therm 4 button thermostat Dan DeBruin RV Systems & Appliances 28 07-17-2019 01:50 PM
Duo Therm 5 button thermostat blank display herbsells RV Systems & Appliances 5 12-12-2016 04:31 PM
Duo Therm 5-button Thermostat weird problem.... Rook National RV Owner's Forum 2 12-02-2016 11:08 PM
Duo Therm 5 Button thermostat is blank gremlin Monaco Owner's Forum 24 03-26-2013 08:49 PM
Duo-Therm 4 button thermostat problem Anniedanny National RV Owner's Forum 3 01-08-2012 05:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.