Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2022, 08:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 62
Hooking Up Dish Receiver to SKM100

Looking for a quick bump here. Trying to hook up the Dish receiver to the sat. Did a search but didn't find much info on hooking up Dish receiver to late model Newmar DP's.

Does 1-3 sound correct?
1. "Blue ray / DVD Source" HDMI plugs into DVD.
2. "Satellite Source" HDMI plugs into Dish receiver and sends signal to TV.
3. "Primary" coaxial pulls signal from the satellite to Dish receiver and sends signal to TV.

4. What is "Main" and "Aux Feed"?
5. Do I need a splitter for "Main" or "Aux"?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_8961.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	208.8 KB
ID:	369799  
__________________
2022 Newmar LA 4589
2018 Ford F-250 Platinum Diesel
2016 HD CVO Road Glide Ultra
Road Hogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2022, 08:47 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 194
If yours is like my 21 ventana you will need a powered splitter switch. Donít remember the model number. A call to winegard can verify. Camper world also sells them.
__________________
2021 Newmar Ventana 3412
2017 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
orpco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 09:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
RVStitchy's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Fort Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 574
Not sure which sat antenna you have or if it was set up for Dish prior. On some (maybe all) you need to make sure the dip switches are set for Dish vs. Direct TV. They typically come set for Direct TV from the factory.
__________________
2022 Dutch Star 4369 FL Towing 2022 GMC Sierra 1500
Chris & Lee, Finnegan & Kirby (Double Doodled)
2020 Kountry Star 3709 towing Equinox.
RVStitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 09:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 480
Here is what I had to use in my 21 DS. I had to get a Hybrid Solo Hub model #203952 made by Echostar Technologies-they run about $7-10 on line. I use a Hopper 3 btw. In my coach there is an incoming coax labeled "Main Feed" that goes into the "To ODU" port on the hub and then the dummy terminated plug that is provided with the hub goes onto one of the ports labeled "To client/hvn" port. Next, there is a coax labeled "bedroom feed" that goes into the second "client/hvn" port on the hub. Finally, the port on the hub labeled "To host" goes into your Hopper satellite receiver. In my bedroom, there is a coax labeled "LVRM" that goes into your joey. You use the HDMI cables in both locations to feed video signal to the TV's. I also had to switch the sound on the Main tv audio from hdmi to optical for best sound quality coming from the Bose sound bar. Mine had audio running through the hdmi originally and did not sound that good. I hope this helps you with your situation, but if not, it will help anyone with a newer DS wanting to hook up a Dish Hopper.
__________________
__________________
Howard & Cheryl
2021 Dutch Star 4081
2018 F150, 1997 Jeep Cherokee, 2021 Tesla
UMXHAULER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 11:48 AM   #5
Member
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 657
You need to connect your coax to the main port. The aux port would use a jumper coax to the other wall plate depending on where you are trying to send an additional signal.
You need to connect the satellite hdmi to the rear of the receiver.
__________________
.
NATIONAL INDOOR RV CENTERS - NIRVC
Sales | Service | Indoor Storage | Wash
Collision Repair & Paint Restoration


SM Nashville 972-697-6325
Bobby Dowdle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 03:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 480
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Dowdle View Post
You need to connect your coax to the main port. The aux port would use a jumper coax to the other wall plate depending on where you are trying to send an additional signal.
You need to connect the satellite hdmi to the rear of the receiver.
I still think you need the splitter/hub I mentioned. Some have referred to using an expensive powered splitter you can purchase from Dish but that was not necessary on my installation. I did what my selling dealer (Transwest) said to do and it worked. Dish and Direct have slightly different hook up requirements from what I can gather as well. All this being said, I just ditched all my Dish stuff in home and RV and finally went with Starlink and now I will just stream everything, have great wi fi and wi fi connect for cell phone service. Starlink does require correct positioning but so does satellite TV. I often could not even use it because of obstruction from trees. I can at least move my Starlink dish to a better location without moving the coach.
__________________
Howard & Cheryl
2021 Dutch Star 4081
2018 F150, 1997 Jeep Cherokee, 2021 Tesla
UMXHAULER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2022, 04:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby Dowdle View Post
You need to connect your coax to the main port. The aux port would use a jumper coax to the other wall plate depending on where you are trying to send an additional signal.
You need to connect the satellite hdmi to the rear of the receiver.
Bobby,

Great. Thanks for the tip. Would you know what the "Primary" outlet is for?
__________________
2022 Newmar LA 4589
2018 Ford F-250 Platinum Diesel
2016 HD CVO Road Glide Ultra
Road Hogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up independant second Dish receiver Pirate_Mike Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 05-07-2017 08:05 AM
Dish OTA tuner module for Dish receiver? Dean757 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 02-13-2016 05:37 PM
When hooking up a receiver to a TV which is best? Mr_D Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 15 05-16-2015 07:38 AM
Can't Get Local OTA Channels Without Hooking Up Dish Tailgater? bajarat Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 11-09-2014 08:11 PM
Hooking a sat dish into my Outlaw DGShaffer Damon 8 04-09-2012 04:32 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.