Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-24-2018, 12:51 AM   #1

How do you store a long Stinky-Slinky w/ connections on both ends?

You old-time Newmar owners can tell I'm new to these coaches. And I'm sure you've already worked this out. So please share.

I'm used to "real" Stinky-Slinky storage tubes. You know, the ones that are long white PVC tubes that hang under the RV and are about 5" in diameter. You can stick just about any hose in there with fittings already attached at both ends. Open one end, pull the hose out, twist it onto your sewer connection, twist on a sewer dump adapter and fit the 90° elbow into the dump drain.

But apparently not on Newmars. The sewer hose storage tube on my 2008 Kountry Star 3623 isn't much larger than the hose itself. There's no way a bayonet fitting will fit inside the hole. Even the smallest diameter connector is way to large to fit. And then to make things even more "interesting," they put a 90° turn in the tube just a couple of feet in.

There is enough room at the outside for a bayonet connector connected to one end of the hose. But what about the hose end that goes into the hole first?