Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2022, 03:17 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
LK23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,645
How many ACs can I run on 30 amp

I have three 13.5 m air conditions on my Dutch Star 4369. How many can I run on 30 amp with little else running except the refrigerator?
__________________
2017 Dutch Star 4369
Huey Pilot — Vietnam 1971-72
Author of: ACE, The Story of Lt. Col. Ace Cozzalio
and: The Aviators: Stories of Helicopter Combat in Vietnam 1971-72
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2022, 03:23 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,193
2, with little else running.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 05:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 895
2 can run on 30 amps.

Getting the second one past the initial amp startup draw may be tricky.

Your EMS might also get involved and say no to the second one.
bentjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
LK23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,645
Thanks!!
__________________
2017 Dutch Star 4369
Huey Pilot — Vietnam 1971-72
Author of: ACE, The Story of Lt. Col. Ace Cozzalio
and: The Aviators: Stories of Helicopter Combat in Vietnam 1971-72
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:27 PM   #5
Member
 
DicknBambi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Hadley NY
Posts: 96
On our Dutch Star we have been okay with two running but I had to turn off the electric hot water and shut off the air if you want to use the microwave. If you forget the microwave will remind you
__________________
Not here for a long time, Here for a good time!!
DicknBambi
2001 DSDP 4095. 24ft Look car hauler 2004 Excape
DicknBambi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mtflybox's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
RV Trip Wizard
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 174
Prior to easy starts, 2nd compressor usually wouldn’t come on.
__________________
-Mark
2021 Newmar NewAire 3341/Blue Ox Avail
2019 Wrangler/STAY-IN-PLAY DUO
mtflybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:44 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ArtJoyce's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Thornville, Ohio
Posts: 2,559
You want to run you fridge and AC's?

Maybe 2, but I'm thinking 1. 90% certin two with no fridge
__________________
Art & Joyce
Thornville, OH
Kia Soul pushing a 36' DP Endeavor
ArtJoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 09:30 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
NCC-1701A's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1,166
We camped for 5 days in July '19 at a city campground in Ohio that only had 30 amp hookups. I had two AC's going, the fridge, and a fan. That campground had good stable power...even though only 20 and 30 amp outlets.
__________________
"Second star to the right and straight on 'til morning"
On the Mississippi in SE Minnesota
2013 Newmar Mountain Aire 4336
2016 Chevy Silverado 4x4
NCC-1701A is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2022, 09:38 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 11,934
Get one of these and keep an eye on it while they are running.

https://www.amazon.com/Voltage-Evers...s%2C147&sr=8-6


If it gets below 108 volts shut one of the air conditioners off as low voltage will destroy an air conditioner.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Living is hazardous to your health.
Arch Hoagland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 04:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Poohbear7278's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bethlehem Ga.
Posts: 250
And if your plug and the receptacle is not tight , the prong on your plug will get super hot and melt
Poohbear7278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 05:20 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCC-1701A View Post
We camped for 5 days in July '19 at a city campground in Ohio that only had 30 amp hookups. I had two AC's going, the fridge, and a fan. That campground had good stable power...even though only 20 and 30 amp outlets.
Silver Springs CG in Stow ?
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2022, 09:33 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
NCC-1701A's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1,166
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
Silver Springs CG in Stow ?
My apologies for going off topic, but to answer the question: Meadowbrook Park in Bascom. Really a nice park, but not all that great for big rigs when I was there as the sites pretty much all had trees tight on each side of the site pads and narrow lanes. I used Google Earth to review in advance and pick a site I knew I could get in and out of.

In looking up the park link I see they used the pandemic "lull" to upgrade all sites to have 50 amp now! :-) I would definitely stay there again if in the area. I am always amazed how some small towns around the country can have such wonderful city facilities. This one is 130 acres and way more than just a campground.

http://mbpark.org/
__________________
"Second star to the right and straight on 'til morning"
On the Mississippi in SE Minnesota
2013 Newmar Mountain Aire 4336
2016 Chevy Silverado 4x4
NCC-1701A is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2022, 07:46 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: All over USA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by LK23 View Post
I have three 13.5 m air conditions on my Dutch Star 4369. How many can I run on 30 amp with little else running except the refrigerator?
This is not EZ !!!! There is a lot to this!!!!!!
I have a 2019 DS 4018 costom and have a lot of time on 30AMP.
Frist you need to know how to us the power management system. It is in to power cabinet up front. It is important you will need to set it to 30amps supply. It will help to management the power.
In that system you will find it will show how much AMPS you are pulling
AC will pull 17amps at start then down to about 11 to 12 amps out side temp can make it change.
There is a lot of thing that pull power that you will not see like battery charger it can pull 20+ amps. Them you have the deep frezeer/refrigerator/water heater 1and 2.
You can get softstart system put on the AC that will help with the start up amps and should be OK the run 2 AC on 30 amp supply
JC 4018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2022, 08:02 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: All over USA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bentjm View Post
2 can run on 30 amps.

Getting the second one past the initial amp startup draw may be tricky.

Your EMS might also get involved and say no to the second one.
Did you have the EMS set to 30amp supply?
JC 4018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACs: run on Low, Hi, or Auto? Radioman Newmar Owner's Forum 3 07-02-2018 08:35 AM
ACs will not run on generator sandbri1 RV Systems & Appliances 14 06-27-2016 11:17 PM
Wanting to run both acs jvowell Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 05-08-2015 06:56 AM
Two 15,000 BTU ACs vs two 13,500 BTU ACs... go6car RV Systems & Appliances 5 01-24-2015 09:36 AM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.